Documents: 53, displayed: 41 - 53

Sub-project: Fragmenta Bongarsiana

Start: March 2018

Status: In progress

Financed by: Burgerbibliothek Bern, swissuniversities, SNF

Description: Together with the Burgerbibliothek Bern, we have facilitated the digitization of approximately 150 fragments of parchment. Most of these are from the collection of Jacques Bongars (1554-1612), who had a philological interest in rare texts, as did Pierre Pithou (1539-1596) and especially Pierre Daniel (1530-1603), with whom Bongars was closely associated. Jacques Bongars and Pierre Daniel are among the earliest scholars to have shown an interest in fragments. The Bernese fragment collection is unique because it contains not only manuscript waste, but also a large number of manuscripts that have been transmitted in incomplete form, for example, with only a single quire or a part thereof to have survived. In the course of making these texts accessible through e-codices, many fragments were identified for the first time. Most of these were known texts or authors, but some spectacular new discoveries were made of previously unknown texts on biblical exegesis from the Carolingian epoch. In the coming years, the collection will be published in parallel in e-codices and in Fragmentarium.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.5
Parchment · 4 ff. · 27.5 x 19 cm · France · end of the 15th century
Robin Comtet: Panégyrique de Blanche de Navarre (fragment)

Fragment of a panegyric on Queen Blanche of Navarre (1331–1398), consisting of almost 400 verses. The author Robin Comtet - who mentions himself toward the end of the piece - is not otherwise known. The poem seems to have been preserved only in this copy and has not yet been published. (mit)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.7
Parchment · 2 ff. · 26 x 17.5 cm · France · end of the 14th century (text) –1515 (additions)
Continuation des Chroniques abrégées de Baudouin d'Avesnes (fragment)

Fragment with an excerpt from the Continuation des Chroniques abrégées by Baldwin of Avesnes (for the years 1369–1370); the text for the events of the years 1342-1383 was adopted without changes for the Chroniques de Flandres. The additions twice contain the name of Robert Migaillot, canon at Laon, who gave this manuscript as a gift to his cousin in 1515. (mit)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.8
Parchment · 1 f. · 26.5 x 17 cm · France · 14th century
Copie de lettre

Copy of a letter by Etienne du cimetière, prévôt d’Orléans, regarding Jean de Saint-Mesmin's confession to the maison de la chèvrerie, dated March 1331 (or 1337). (mit)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.9
Parchment · 4 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · France · end of the 13th / beginning of the 14th century
Lancelot en prose (fragment)

Fragment (2 bifolia) of a French manuscript of Lancelot in prose. Based on the note of sale, perhaps related to the library of Jean Buridan, philosopher and professor at the University of Paris? (mit)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.10
Parchment · 8 ff. · 32 x 24 cm · France · end of the 14th century
Boethius: Livre de consolation; Guillaume de Machaut: Le confort d'ami

This fragment contains two texts that were popular in France at the time: the French translation of the Consolatio Philosophiae by Boethius and of the confort d’ami by Guillaume de Machaut. The 8 pages are from a rich collection of fragments in the Burgerbibliothek of Bern; they were digitized as a complement to the library’s magnificently decorated Machaut manuscript (Cod. 218). (mit)

Online Since: 04/23/2013

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. C 219
Parchment and paper · 8 + 8 + 8 + 8 ff. · A) 29.5 x 19.5-20 cm; B) 27 x 21.5 cm; C) 30.5 x 21.5 cm; D) 27 x 20 cm · A) Italy?; B) France; C) France: Bourges; D) England: Wales · A) second half of the 11th century; B) first half of the 15th century; C) around 1465–1475; D) end of the 9th/ beginning of the 10th century
A) Cicero: Topica; B) Annaeus Florus: Epitome Bellorum Romanorum; Livius: Periochae; C) Juvenal: Saturae, cum glossis; D) Augustinus (Pseudo-): Categoriae [= Paraphrasis Themistiana] (fragments)

Composite manuscript consisting of four very different parts that probably came to Bern in 1632 as part of the property of Jacques Bongars; parts B and C are from the Collège de Navarre in Paris. All parts are at least partly illuminated. All fragments have related parts in other libraries: for part A, Paris BN lat. 7709, f. 1–4; for B, Paris BN lat. 17566, f. 1–40; for C, Paris BN lat. 17902, f. 1–85; and for D, Leiden UB, Voss. Q 2 IX (f. 60). (mit)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. D 219
Parchment · 8 + 10 ff. · 27.5 x 19.5 cm ; 26.5 x 17 cm · A) France: Fleury; B) France: Eastern? · A) fourth quarter of the 9th century; B) second quarter of the 9th century
A) Passiones sanctorum; B) Isidorus: Synonyma, Differentiae (fragments)

Composite manuscript consisting of two different parts that probably came to Bern in 1632 as part of the property of Jacques Bongars. Part A comes from an extensive collection of lives of the saints for the liturgy of Fleury, various of which have been preserved in the Vatican Library: Reg. lat. 274, f. 95–102; Reg. lat. 318, f. 1–79, 80–146, 147–258; Reg. lat. 585, f. 13–27; Reg. lat. 711.II, f. 11–18; 67–76. Part B contains fragments from Isidore’s grammatical writings and probably was written in Eastern France. (mit)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. E 219
Parchment · 8 ff. · 26 x 15.5 cm · France · first half of the 9th century
Salvianus Massiliensis: Epistulae (fragment)

The only textual witness for certain letters by Salvianus of Marseille, the complement of which is preserved in Paris BN lat. 2174, f. 113–115. This non-illuminated fragment probably came to Bern in 1632 as part of the property of Jacques Bongars. (mit)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. F 219 I
Parchment · 14 ff. · 24.5 x 18.5 cm · France · second half of the 10th century
Boethius: De arithmetica (fragment)

Fragment of the Boethius' On Arithmetic, containing numerous schematic drawings; it probably came to Bern in 1632 as part of the property of Jacques Bongars. (mit)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. F 219 II
Parchment · 4 ff. · 31 x 22 cm · France: Loire region · first half of the 9th century
Isidorus: De natura rerum (fragment)

Two bifolia from an Isidore manuscript that was probably produced in the Loire region. The fragment contains, among others, a carefully sketched wind rose as well as astronomical texts at the end that, in the context of the Aratea, are known as the “Scholia Bernensia”. It probably came to Bern in 1632 as part of the collection of Jacques Bongars. (mit)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. F 219 III
Parchment · 18 ff. · 34.5–35 x 24.5–25 cm · probably Spain · second half of the 7th century
Oribasius: Synopsis medica (fragment)

Fragment of a manuscript in uncial script containing medical texts; it was probably written in Spain and came to the library of Chartres Cathedral perhaps via Italy. The remaining parts are preserved in Paris BN lat. 10233. Based on an entry by the Bernese librarian Samuel Hortin, the fragment in all likelihood came to Bern in 1632 as part of the Bongarsiana collection. (mit)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, MUE Inc I 20
Parchment · 1 f. · 29 x 23.5-24 cm · France, Tours · early 9th century
Biblia latina: Vulgata, recensio Alcuini (fragment)

Remnants of an Alcuin's Bible from the Dominican Monastery of Bern, which were used around 1495 by the bookbinder Johannes Vatter as pastedowns for various incunables that are currently held in Bern and Solothurn. After the secularization of the monastery in 1528, the host volume (MUE Inc. I.20) perhaps as part of a bequest of books by the Venner [standard bearer] Jürg Schöni in 1534, became part of the Bern library. Reunification of the fragments: [sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina). (mit)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Solothurn, Zentralbibliothek, Cod. S II 151
Parchment · 4 ff. · 17.5-33.5 x 19-28 cm · France: Tours · early 9th century
Biblia latina: Vulgata, recensio Alcuini (fragment)

Remnants of an Alcuin's Bible from the Dominican Monastery of Bern, which were used around 1495 by the bookbinder Johannes Vatter as pastedowns for various incunables that are currently held in Bern and Solothurn. After the secularization of the monastery in 1528, the host volume reached Solothurn; it was first held in the library of the St. Ursus Monastery, after its secularization in the cantonal library, one of the predecessors of the current Solothurn Central Library. Reunification of the fragments: [sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina). (mit)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Documents: 53, displayed: 41 - 53

Dokumente: 53, angezeigt: 41 - 53

Teilprojekt: Fragmenta Bongarsiana

Beginn: März 2018

Status: Laufend

Finanziert durch: Burgerbibliothek Bern, swissuniversities, SNF

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: In Zusammenarbeit mit der Burgerbibliothek Bern wurde die Digitalisierung von 150 Pergamentfragmenten ermöglicht. Die meisten derselben stammen aus der Sammlung Jacques Bongars (1554-1612), der wie Pierre Pithou (1539-1596) und besonders Pierre Daniel (1530-1603), mit welchem Bongars besonders stark verbunden war, ein philologisches Interesse an selten überlieferten Texten besass. Jacques Bongars und Pierre Daniel gehörten zu den ersten Gelehrten, die sich für Fragmente interessierten. Aus diesem Grunde ist die Berner Fragmentensammlung einmalig, da sie nicht nur aus Makulatur besteht, sondern auch aus einer großen Anzahl unvollständig überlieferten Handschriften, von denen zum Beispiel nur eine einzelne Lage oder ein Teil davon gesammelt wurde. Im Rahmen der Erschliessung für e-codices konnten zahlreiche Fragmente erstmals identifiziert werden. Meistens handelt es sich dabei um bekannte Texte bzw. Autoren, es gelangen aber auch spektakuläre Neufunde von bislang gänzlich unbekannten Texten zur Bibelexegese aus karolingischer Zeit. Die Sammlung wird in den nächsten Jahren parallel auf e-codices und Fragmentarium veröffentlicht.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.5
Pergament · 4 ff. · 27.5 x 19 cm · Frankreich · Ende 15. Jh.
Robin Comtet: Panégyrique de Blanche de Navarre (Fragment)

Fragment einer knapp 400 Verse umfassenden Panegyrik auf die Königin Blanche de Navarre (1331–1398). Der Verfasser Robin Comtet – er nennt sich gegen Ende des Stücks selbst – ist sonst nicht bekannt. Das Gedicht ist offenbar unikal überliefert und bislang nicht ediert worden. (mit)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.7
Pergament · 2 ff. · 26 x 17.5 cm · Frankreich · Ende 14 Jh. (Text) –1515 (Nachträge)
Continuation des Chroniques abrégées de Baudouin d'Avesnes (Fragment)

Fragment mit einem Auszug aus der Continuation des Chroniques abrégées de Baudouin d'Avesnes (Jahre 1369–1370); der Text für die Ereignisse der Jahre 1342–1383 wurde unverändert auch in die Chroniques de Flandres übernommen. In den Nachträgen findet sich zweimal der Name von Robert Migaillot, Kanoniker in Laon, welcher die Handschrift 1515 seinem Vetter zum Geschenk machte. (mit)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.8
Pergament · 1 f. · 26.5 x 17 cm · Frankreich · 14. Jh.
Copie de lettre

Kopie eines Schreibens des Etienne du cimetière, prévôt d'Orléans, betreffend das Geständnis von Jean de Saint-Mesmin zur maison de la chèvrerie, datiert März 1331 (oder 1337). (mit)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.9
Pergament · 4 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Frankreich · Ende 13. / Anfang 14. Jh.
Lancelot en prose (Fragment)

Fragment (2 Doppelblätter) einer französichen Handschrift des Lancelot en prose. Aufgrund des Kaufvermerks vielleicht mit Bezug zur Bibliothek des Jean Buridan, Philosoph und Professor an der Pariser Universität? (mit)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.10
Pergament · 8 ff. · 32 x 24 cm · Frankreich · Ende des 14. Jahrhunderts
Boethius: Livre de consolation; Guillaume de Machaut: Le confort d'ami

Das Fragment enthält mit einer französischen Übertragung der consolatio philosophiae des Boethius und dem confort d’ami des Guillaume de Machaut zwei damals in Frankreich weit ver-breitete Texte. Die 8 Blätter stammen aus der reichen Fragmentsammlung der Burgerbibliothek Bern und wurden ergänzend zu ihrer prächtig ausgestatteten Machaut-Handschrift (Cod. 218) digitalisiert. (mit)

Online seit: 23.04.2013

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. C 219
Pergament und Papier · 8 + 8 + 8 + 8 ff. · A) 29.5 x 19.5-20 cm; B) 27 x 21.5 cm; C) 30.5 x 21.5 cm; D) 27 x 20 cm · A) Italien?; B) Frankreich; C) Frankreich: Bourges; D) England: Wales · A) zweite Hälfte des 11. Jahrhunderts; B) erste Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts; C) um 1465–1475; D) Ende 9./ Anfang 10. Jahrhundert
A) Cicero: Topica; B) Annaeus Florus: Epitome Bellorum Romanorum; Livius: Periochae; C) Juvenal: Saturae, cum glossis; D) Augustinus (Pseudo-): Categoriae [= Paraphrasis Themistiana] (Fragmente)

Sammelband, bestehend aus vier ganz unterschiedlichen Teilen, die vermutlich 1632 aus dem Besitz von Jacques Bongars nach Bern gelangten; die Teile B und C stammen aus dem Collège de Navarre in Paris. Sämtliche Teile sind, mindestens teilweise, illuminiert. Von allen Fragmenten finden sich zugehörige Teile in anderen Bibliotheken, nämlich A: Paris BN lat. 7709, f. 1–4; B: Paris BN lat. 17566, f. 1–40; C: Paris BN lat. 17902, f. 1–85 sowie D: Leiden UB, Voss. Q 2 IX (f. 60). (mit)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. D 219
Pergament · 8 + 10 ff. · 27.5 x 19.5 cm ; 26.5 x 17 cm · A) Frankreich: Fleury; B) Frankreich: östliches? · A) letztes Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts; B) zweites Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
A) Passiones sanctorum; B) Isidorus: Synonyma, Differentiae (Fragmente)

Sammelband, bestehend aus zwei unterschiedlichen Teilen, die vermutlich 1632 aus dem Besitz von Jacques Bongars nach Bern gelangten. Teil A stammt aus einer umfangreichen Sammlung von Heiligenviten für die Liturgie in Fleury, von der sich verschiedene Stücke im Vatikan erhalten haben: Reg. lat. 274, f. 95–102; Reg. lat. 318, f. 1–79, 80–146, 147–258; Reg. lat. 585, f. 13–27; Reg. lat. 711.II, f. 11–18; 67–76. Teil B enthält Fragmente aus Isidors grammatikalischen Schriften und wurde vermutlich im östlichen Frankreich geschrieben. (mit)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. E 219
Pergament · 8 ff. · 26 x 15.5 cm · Frankreich · erste Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Salvianus Massiliensis: Epistulae (Fragment)

Einziger Textzeuge für gewisse Briefe des Salvianus von Marseille, dessen Ergänzung in Paris BN lat. 2174, f. 113–115 erhalten ist. Das nicht illuminierte Fragment dürfte vermutlich 1632 aus dem Besitz von Jacques Bongars nach Bern gelangt sein. (mit)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. F 219 I
Pergament · 14 ff. · 24.5 x 18.5 cm · Frankreich · zweite Hälfte des 10. Jahrhunderts
Boethius: De arithmetica (Fragment)

Mit zahlreichen schematischen Darstellungen versehenes Fragment aus der Arithmetica des Boethius, das 1632 aus dem Besitz von Jacques Bongars nach Bern gelangt sein dürfte. (mit)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. F 219 II
Pergament · 4 ff. · 31 x 22 cm · Frankreich: Loiregegend · erste Hälfte des 9. Jahrhunderts
Isidorus: De natura rerum (Fragment)

Zwei Doppelblätter aus einer vermutlich in der Loiregegend entstandenen Isidor-Handschrift. Das Fragment enthält u.a. eine sorgfältig gezeichnete Windrose sowie am Ende astronomische Texte, die im Umfeld der Aratea auch als Scholia Bernensia bekannt sind. Es ist wohl 1632 mit der Sammlung von Jacques Bongars nach Bern gelangt. (mit)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. F 219 III
Pergament · 18 ff. · 34.5–35 x 24.5–25 cm · vermutlich Spanien · zweite Hälfte des 7. Jahrhunderts
Oribasius: Synopsis medica (Fragment)

Bruchstück einer wohl in Spanien entstandenen und möglicherweise über Italien in die Kathedralbibliothek von Chartres gelangten Unzialhandschrift mit medizinischen Texten, deren übrige Teile in Paris BN lat. 10233 erhalten sind. Aufgrund eines Eintrags des Berner Bibliothekars Samuel Hortin dürfte das Fragment mit grosser Wahrscheinlichkeit 1632 mit der Bongarsiana nach Bern gelangt sein. (mit)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, MUE Inc I 20
Pergament · 1 f. · 29 x 23.5-24 cm · Frankreich: Tours · frühes 9. Jahrhundert
Biblia latina: Vulgata, recensio Alcuini (Fragment)

Reste einer Alkuinbibel aus dem Dominikanerkloster Bern, die um 1495 durch den Buchbinder Johannes Vatter als Spiegelblätter verschiedener heute in Bern und Solothurn befindlicher Inkunabeln verwendet wurden. Nach Aufhebung des Klosters 1528 gelangte der Trägerband (MUE Inc. I.20) vielleicht mit dem Büchervermächtnis des Venners Jürg Schöni 1534 in den Besitz der Berner Bibliothek. Zusammenführung der Fragmente: [sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina). (mit)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Solothurn, Zentralbibliothek, Cod. S II 151
Pergament · 4 ff. · 17.5-33.5 x 19-28 cm · Frankreich: Tours · frühes 9. Jahrhundert
Biblia latina: Vulgata, recensio Alcuini (Fragment)

Reste einer Alkuinbibel aus dem Dominikanerkloster Bern, die um 1495 durch den Buchbinder Johannes Vatter als Spiegelblätter verschiedener heute in Bern und Solothurn befindlicher Inkunabeln verwendet wurden. Nach Aufhebung des Klosters 1528 gelangte der Trägerband nach Solothurn, zunächst in die Bibliothek des Stifts St. Ursus, nach dessen Aufhebung 1874 in die Kantonsbibliothek, eine der Vorgängerinstitutionen der heutigen Zentralbibliothek Solothurn. Zusammenführung der Fragmente: [sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina). (mit)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Dokumente: 53, angezeigt: 41 - 53