Documents: 60, displayed: 41 - 60

Sub-project: Collaborative Projects

January 2010 - June 2011

Status: Completed

Financed by: Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (http://www.mellon.org/)

Description: The main aim of this second Mellon funded project phase was to strengthen the function of e-codices as an international platform for research on manuscripts from Swiss collections. A “call for collaboration” was published on our website in June 2009, in which scholars were invited to suggest manuscripts for digitization. From among more than 150 proposals submitted, our internal evaluation process allowed us to select 60 manuscripts for digitization. Types of collaboration varied greatly, from writing new scholarly manuscript descriptions to developing tools for online manuscript study, to building connections with other virtual manuscript library websites.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 140
Parchment · 404 pp. · 21 x 15.5 -16 cm · St. Gall · 10th century
Manuscript compilation from the beginning of the 10th century containing assorted short works by Augustine and numerous liturgical tracts

A three-part manuscript compilation, most likely written at the beginning of the 10th century. In the 11th century the monk Ekkehart IV. added numerous marginal and interlinear glosses. The contents of the first part include mostly works by Augustine (letters 214-216 to the Abbot Valentine; De libero arbitrio (On free will); the anti-arian piece Contra Felicianum Arianum de unitate trinitatis; De magistro (On the teacher). The second part contains assorted, mostly shorter, liturgical tracts (such as Ordo ecclesiasticus romanae ecclesiae qualiter missa celebratur; Ordo librorum catholicorum; De vestimentis sacerdotalibus). The third part contains a compilation of short canon law texts. (smu)

Online Since: 06/22/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 143
Parchment · 84 ff. · 24.2 x 17 cm · St. Gall · first third of the 9th century
Augustinus, De genesi contra Manichaeos

A copy of Augustine's work De genesi contra manichaeos, written in Carolingian minuscule during the first third of the 9th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. The numerous glosses in Latin were added during the 11th century; frequent supposition of their attribution to St. St. Gall monk Ekkehart IV. appears questionable. At the end of the text is an apology by an inexperienced scribe. Original Carolingian binding. (smu)

Online Since: 06/02/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 166
Parchment · 434 pp. · 32 x 24.5 cm · St. Gall · around 850
Fifth volume of a six-volume commentary on the Psalms by St. Augustine

The fifth of a group of originally six volumes containing Augustine's commentary on the Psalms (the sixth volume was missing as early as 1461). Includes some explanatory notes by St. St. Gall monk Ekkehart IV, including two in Old High German. (sno)

Online Since: 06/22/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 254
Parchment · 256 pp. · 29 x 23 cm · St. Gall · around 860
Jerome, Commentary on the Old Testament book of Isaiah. Includes the most authentic version of the Old English "Death Song" by the Venerable Bede

A redaction by the Anglo-Saxon Joseph Scottus, written in about 860. Appended is the oldest known surviving copy of the letter of Cuthbert, student of the Venerable Bede, to his friend Cuthwin, relating the story of the death of Bede in the year 735. This account incorporates the Old English Death Song by Bede, Fore there neidfaerae ..., in the oldest known version in Bede's own Northumbrian dialect. The manuscript still retains its original Carolingian binding. (smu)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 387
Parchment · 984 pp. · 24.5-25 x 16-16.5 cm · St. Gall · second quarter of the 11th century (additions through the 14th century)
Breviary, summer portion (with neumes)

Summer portion (Holy Saturday through the end of the church year) of a breviary written at the Abbey of St. Gall between 1022 and 1047 (with readings, prayers, extracts from homilies, antiphons, responses and hymns for the monastic liturgy of the hours), includes additions made as late as the 14th century. The sung sections include neumes. Preceding materials include a fragment of a collections of homilies, a calendar, and computistical texts and tables. The corresponding winter portion of this breviary is found in Cod. Sang. 413. It is among the oldest surviving breviaries produced at St. Gall. (sno)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 406
Paper · 617 pp. · 24.5 x 17 cm · second half of the 15th century
Breviary

This breviary dating from the second half of the 15th century contains assorted offices of the Proprium de sanctis in two parts as well as the text In dedicatione ecclesiae, a short collection of sermons for the celebration of church dedications (Richard of Saint Victor, Augustine, Eusebius ‹Gallicanus›, Bernard of Clairvaux) and the Creed. This manuscript displays the hand of Cordula von Schönau, the Dominican nun from the cloister of St. Katharina in St. Gall, whose hand is also found in codex Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina, M 3. (fas)

Online Since: 12/21/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 453
Parchment · A-F + 246 + Y-Z pp. · 31.5/32 x 19.5/20 cm · St. Gall · 12th and 18th centuries
The second-oldest surviving book of the chapter office of the Abbey of St. gall, including, among other items, lists of brothers who joined, the Rule of St. Benedict, a martyrology and death record as well as historical account records

The second-oldest surviving chapter office book of the Abbey of St. Gall, begun in the 12th century and maintained, with the addition of many entries, until early modernity. This volume contains, among other things, lists of the bishops of Constance (736-1318) and the abbots of the cloisters at Reichenau (724-1343) and St. Gall (719-1329), records of brothers who became members of the Abbey of St. Gall, readings and homilies for Sundays and holy days in the chapter assembly of the monchs, a copy of the Rule of St. Benedict, a martyrology complete with death records, tables and explanations for figuring the dates for Easter, and a copy, with continuation, of the St. Gall Annals found in Cod. Sang. 915. At the very back: two printed lists of St. St. Gall monks from 1757 and 1798. (smu)

Online Since: 06/22/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 479
Paper · 227 ff. · 12.5 x 10 cm · St. Gall · 1483
The German Language Prayer book of Dorotea von Hof

This manuscript of collected items with twelve historiated initials and prayers in the German language was written by Dorothea von Hof (1458-1501), daughter of Heinrich Ehinger and Margarethe von Kappel. The codex contains the Officium parvum BMV as well as assorted prayers (mainly Marian prayers and prayers from the Passion of Christ), the Hundert Betrachtungen ("Hundred Meditations") from the Büchlein der ewigen Weisheit ("Book of Eternal Wisdom") by Henry Suso, and prayers ascribed to Thomas Aquinas. This manuscript on paper, completed in 1483, was presumably owned by the sisters of the Dominican cloister of St. Katharina in St. Gall, of which Dorothea von Hof is listed as a patroness. (fas)

Online Since: 12/21/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 610
Paper · 521 pp. · 29 x 20.5 cm · 1452-1459
Computistic Texts and Tables; Lives of Saints and Martyrs; Casus sancti Galli etc.

The two main components of this manuscript are the lives of the house saints of St. Gall (Gallus, Otmar, Wiborada and Notker Balbulus) and of the apostles and early Christian saints and martyrs, and the Chronicle of the Abbey of St. Gall, from the Casus sancti Galli by Ratpert (612-883) to the Continuatio by Conradus de Fabaria (1204-1234). St. Gall reformer Vadian added marginal notes, some of them quite detailed and critical, to the text describing the history of the cloister. The codex also contains chronicalistic notes about St. Gall and Switzerland (14th/15th centuries), the Reise in das Heilige Land by Steffan Kapfman, and computistic, medical, astronomical and theological texts. On two previously empty pages (pp. 324-325) St. Gall abbey librarian Idelfons von Arx added four recipes for making faded handwriting legible. (sno)

Online Since: 06/22/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 676
Parchment · 261 pp. · 24 x 18 cm · Lake Constance region · 1080/1100
Canonical collection manuscript by Bernold von Konstanz

Copies of a variety of canonical texts, written between 1080 and 1100, likely at the Cloister of St. Blaise or the Cloister of Allerheiligen (All Saints) in Schaffhausen by theologian and canonist Bernold von Konstanz or by employees under his supervision. It contains, among other items, copies of the Poenitentiales by Rabanus Maurus ad Heribaldum, the sixth book of the Poenitentiales by Halitgar of Cambrai, excerpts from the Decree of Burchard of Worms, proceedings of the first Christian Councils, the Epitome Hadriani and the Collectio 74 titulorum cum appendice Suevica. (smu)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 742
Parchment · 594 pp. · 45-45.5 x 28-29 cm · Italy and France (illumination) · second half of the 13th and second half of the 14th century
Large-format copy of the Decrees issued in 1234 by Pope Gregory IX

A representative copy of the decretals of Pope Gregory IX (Pope 1227-1241) in a Gothic-rotunda script from Italy. The text of the decretals is surrounded on each page by the so-called Glossa Ordinaria, a juridical commentary by the canon law specialist Bernardus de Botone of Parma († 1266), which has been written to encircle the main text. The commentary in turn has been extensively edited and glossed at a later time. Each of the five parts is decorated with a scene portraying its content. (smu)

Online Since: 03/31/2011

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 806
Paper · 420 pp. · 29 x 20 cm · Switzerland (?) · 1500/1550
The St. Gall "Dracula" Manuscript

A composite manuscript consisting mainly of historiographic and hagiographic content. The texts were written between 1450 and 1550, then assembled as a volume in 1573 by St. St. Gall monk Mauritius Enk. In addition to transmitting an anonymous Dialogus de sectis, numerous legends about the saints in German, portions of the Strassburg Chronicle by Jakob Twinger von Königshofen, as well as records from the Constance Synod of 1491, the manuscript also contains, on pages 283 through 288, without a title and almost seamlessly continuing into the following text, 30 short accounts recorded in about 1500 of the gruesome deeds of the Wallachian Count Vlad III Tepes ("the Impaler", 1431-1476), who as member of the Order of the Dragon also held the title of Dracula. This Dracula text is only transmitted in three other manuscripts: one at the library of Lambach Abbey in upper Austria, one at the British Library in London, and one at the Municipal Library of Colmar in France. (smu)

Online Since: 03/31/2011

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 818
Parchment · 296 pp. · 27 x 19.2 cm · St. Gall · 11th century
Aristotle, Categoriae, De interpretatione; Cicero, Topica, De optimo genere oratorum

A copy of Aristotle's Categoriae (Categories) and De interpretatione (On interpretation) in Latin with commentaries by Boethius, with translation into Old High German and additional commentaries by St. St. Gall monk and teacher Notker the German († 1022); written during the 11th century at the Abbey of St. Gall. In addition, the manuscript includes copies of two works by Cicero, the Topica and De optimo genere oratorum. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 868
Parchment · 205 (206) pp. · 14.5 x 10.5 cm; 9.5 x 7.5 cm; 14.5 x 12 cm · St. Gall · 12th century
Commentary on Horace

An anonymous commentary, written in tiny script (up to 110 lines on pages only 14.5 cm in height) on the odes, epodes, Ars poetica, letters, and sermons of Horace. It is preceded by lives of Horace by Pseudo-Acro and Suetonius as well as, on the very first pages, documents (including one from 1252). The pages at the end contain a commentary on the Satires of Persius, of which the first part is in poor condition. (sno)

Online Since: 06/22/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 934
Paper · 324 ff. · 15.3 x 11 cm · St. Gall · 15th century (first half to mid-century)
Cloister Rules, Prayers, and Brief Tracts

Parts I, II and IV of a four-part manuscript in German of collected materials containing cloister rules (including the Benedictine Rule), prayers, and short spiritual texts. A comparative study of the script indicates that the volume was written by Benedictine monk Friedrich Kölner (Köllner, Cölner, Colner), who lived at the Abbey of St. Gall between 1429/30 and 1439. Part III, or the model on which it was based, was dedicated to Anna Vogelweider, a sister in the Cistercian women's cloister of Magdenau in Lower Toggenburg, according to an annotation which was later stricken through. This Anna was likely the aunt of a certain Sister Els (Elsbeth?), named in the record of a donation, from the women's community of St. George. (fas)

Online Since: 03/31/2011

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 983
Paper · 367 pp. · 32 x 22.7 cm · St. Gall, St. Leonhard (?) · 1464
Otto von Passau, Die 24 Alten

At the time this work, Die 24 Alten, which was completed in 1386, was written, the Franciscan Otto von Passau was a member of the Minorite convent in Basel. This piece, a form of guide to the Christian life, was widely used in women's convents for reading aloud during meals. This manuscript was written by a swester Endlin, probably at the Franciscan nuns' convent of St. Leonhard in St. Gall. (ber)

Online Since: 11/04/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1878
Paper · 2 + 482 + 2 pp. · 19.5/20 x 13.5 cm · St. Katharinental near Diessenhofen (?) · around 1400
"Engelberger Predigten" (Engelberg Homilies, earlier also known as "Engelberger Prediger")

A copy of the so-called Engelberger Predigten. Homilies in German for a variety of occasions during the church year, written in about 1400 in a Dominican cloister, possibly at St. Katharinental near Diessenhofen, where the manuscript was held for several centuries. (smu)

Online Since: 06/22/2010

Preview Page
Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina, M 3
Paper · 208 ff. · 24 x 17 cm · St. Gall · second half of the 15th century
Breviary with Calendar

This breviary from the second half of the 15th century, written by the Dominican nuns Cordula von Schönau and Verena Gnepser of the cloister of St. Katharina in St. Gall, contains a calendar as well as the summer portion of the Proprium de tempore (Easter Sunday through the 25th Sunday after the octave of Pentecost), the In dedicatione ecclesiae, the Collectae de sanctis et de communi sanctorum (Tiburtius and Valerian through Dominicus), the Officium commune sanctorum as well as two psalters and a hymnal. In the calendar, which opens the paper manuscript, are some entries in the hand of Verena Gnepser containing the names of relatives. This indicates personal use of this breviary by Verena Gnepser. (fas)

Online Since: 12/21/2010

Preview Page
Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina, M II
Parchment · 224 ff. · 53 x 39 cm · St. Gall, Dominican Convent of St. Katharina (?) · end of the 15th century
Antiphonary (de tempore, pars hiemalis)

This parchment manuscript written about the end of the 15th century, with musical notation and book decoration, contains the Proprium de tempore (Winter portion, First Sunday of Advent through Good Friday). The text breaks off at the bottom of a page in the Good Friday antiphon, at the end of the third Psalm for Lauds. The antiphonary was held by the St. Gall Dominican convent of St. Katharina, where it may also have been written. The same hand also wrote the convent's manuscript containing the summer portion of the antiphonary (Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina, M III). (fas)

Online Since: 12/21/2010

Preview Page
Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina, M III
Parchment · 219 pp. · 53 x 39 cm · St. Gall, Dominican Convent of St. Katharina (?) · end of the 15th century
Antiphonary (de sanctis, pars aestivalis)

This Antiphonary for the feast days of saints (Proprium de sanctis, Andreas through Dominikus), with the Signature M II, was written by the same hand as the Antiphonary containing the winter portion of the Proprium de Tempore (Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina, M II). Like M II, this manuscript with musical notation and book decoration was also written about the end of the 15th century, probably at the Dominican convent in St. Gall. (fas)

Online Since: 12/21/2010

Documents: 60, displayed: 41 - 60

Dokumente: 60, angezeigt: 41 - 60

Teilprojekt: Kollaborationsprojekte

Januar 2010 - Juni 2011

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (http://www.mellon.org/)

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Das Hauptziel dieser zweiten von der Mellon Foundation finanzierten Projektphase war es, e-codices als Plattform der internationalen Handschriftenforschung über Handschriften aus schweizerischen Sammlungen zu stärken. Im Juni 2009 wurde ein „call for collaboration“ auf der Website von e-codices publiziert, welcher Handschriftenforscherinnen und -forscher auf der ganzen Welt dazu aufforderte, Handschriften zur Digitalisierung durch e-codices vorzuschlagen. Von über 150 eingereichten Vorschlägen konnten in einem internen Auswahlverfahren 60 ausgewählt werden. Die Form der Zusammenarbeit war sehr vielfältig und enthielt neben neuen wissenschaftlichen Handschriftenbeschreibungen auch neue Werkzeuge zur Erforschung von Handschriften oder Verbindungen mit anderen virtuellen Handschriftenbibliotheken.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 140
Pergament · 404 pp. · 21 x 15.5 -16 cm · St. Gallen · 10. Jahrhundert
Sammelhandschrift vom Beginn des 10. Jahrhunderts mit verschiedenen kleineren Werken des Augustinus und mehreren liturgischen Traktaten

Dreiteilige Sammelhandschrift aus dem Kloster St. Gallen, geschrieben wohl zu Beginn des 10. Jahrhunderts. Im 11. Jahrhundert schrieb der Mönch Ekkehart IV. zahlreiche Marginal- und Interlinearglossen hinzu. Inhaltlich enthält das Werk im ersten Teil hauptsächlich Werke des Augustinus (Briefe 214-216 an den Abt Valentin; De libero arbitrio [Der freie Wille]; die antiarianische Schrift Contra Felicianum Arianum de unitate trinitatis; De magistro [Über den Lehrer]). Im zweiten Teil finden sich verschiedene, meist kürzere liturgische Traktate (etwa Ordo ecclesiasticus romanae ecclesiae qualiter missa celebratur; Ordo librorum catholicorum; De vestimentis sacerdotalibus), der dritte Teil enthält eine Kompilation kleiner kirchenrechtlicher Texte. (smu)

Online seit: 22.06.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 143
Pergament · 84 ff. · 24.2 x 17 cm · St. Gallen · erstes Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Augustinus, De genesi contra Manichaeos

Abschrift des Augustinus-Werks De genesi contra manichaeos, geschrieben in einer karolingischen Minuskel im ersten Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts im Kloster St. Gallen. Die zahlreichen lateinischen Glossen stammen aus dem 11. Jahrhundert; die häufig supponierte Zuordnung an den St. Galler Mönch Ekkehart IV. scheint fraglich. Am Ende des Textes eine Entschuldigung eines unerfahrenen Schreibers. Originaler karolingischer Einband. (smu)

Online seit: 02.06.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 166
Pergament · 434 pp. · 32 x 24.5 cm · St. Gallen · um 850
Fünfter Band eines sechsbändigen Kommentars des heiligen Augustinus zu den Psalmen

Der fünfte von ehemals sechs Bänden mit dem Psalmenkommentar des Augustinus (der sechste Band fehlte bereits 1461). Mit einigen Anmerkungen des St. Galler Mönchs Ekkehart IV., darunter zwei auf Althochdeutsch. (sno)

Online seit: 22.06.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 254
Pergament · 256 pp. · 29 x 23 cm · St. Gallen · um 860
Abschrift des Kommentars des Hieronymus zum alttestamentlichen Buch Jesaja. Mit der authentischsten Fassung des altenglischen „Sterbelieds“ des Beda Venerabilis

Abschrift des Hieronymus-Kommentars zum Buch Jesaja, in der Redaktion durch den Angelsachsen Josephus Scotus, geschrieben um 860. Angehängt die älteste erhaltene Abschrift des Briefs von Cuthbert, Schüler des Beda Venerabilis, an seinen Freund Cuthwin mit dem Bericht über den Tod des Beda im Jahr 735. In diesem Bericht enthalten ist das altenglische Sterbelied Bedas Fore there neidfaerae ... in ältester Überlieferung in Bedas northumbrischem Dialekt. Die Handschrift befindet sich noch im originalen karolingischen Einband. (smu)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 387
Pergament · 984 pp. · 24.5-25 x 16-16.5 cm · St. Gallen · zweites Viertel des 11. Jahrhunderts (Nachträge bis ins 14. Jahrhundert)
Breviar, Sommerteil (mit Neumen)

Sommerteil (Karsamstag bis Ende des Kirchenjahres) eines im Kloster St. Gallen zwischen 1022 und 1047 geschriebenen Breviariums (mit Lesungen, Gebeten, Predigtauszügen, Antiphonen, Responsorien und Hymnen für das Stundengebet der Mönche), mit Nachträgen bis ins 14. Jahrhundert. Die Gesänge sind mit Neumen versehen. Einleitend ein Fragment einer Predigtsammlung, ein Kalendar sowie komputistische Texte und Tabellen. Der dazugehörige Winterteil dieses Breviariums findet sich in Cod. Sang. 413. Gehört zu den ältesten aus St. Gallen überlieferten Breviarien. (sno)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 406
Papier · 617 pp. · 24.5 x 17 cm · zweite Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts
Brevier

Das Brevier aus der zweiten Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts enthält neben verschiedenen Offizien das Proprium de sanctis in zwei Teilen, den Text In dedicatione ecclesiae, eine kleine Predigtsammlung zum Kirchweihfest (Richard von St. Viktor, Augustinus, Eusebius ‹Gallicanus› und Bernhard von Clairvaux) sowie das Glaubensbekenntnis. Geschrieben wurde die Handschrift von Cordula von Schönau, Dominikanerin im Kloster St. Katharina in St. Gallen, deren Hand sich auch im Codex Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina, M 3, findet. (fas)

Online seit: 21.12.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 453
Pergament · A-F + 246 + Y-Z pp. · 31.5/32 x 19.5/20 cm · St. Gallen · 12. und 18. Jahrhundert
Das zweitälteste erhaltene Kapiteloffiziumsbuch des Klosters St. Gallen mit (u.a.) Verbrüderungslisten, Benediktsregel, Martyrologium mit Nekrologium sowie annalistischen Aufzeichnungen

Das zweitälteste erhaltene Kapiteloffiziumsbuch des Klosters St. Gallen, angelegt im 12. Jahrhundert und mit vielen Nachträgen bis in die Frühe Neuzeit versehen. Der Band enthält unter anderem Listen der Bischöfe von Konstanz (736-1318) und der Äbte der Klöster Reichenau (724-1343) und St. Gallen (719-1329), Abschriften von Verbrüderungsverträgen des Klosters St. Gallen, Lesungen und Predigten an den Sonn- und Feiertagen in der Kapitelsversammlung der Mönche, eine Abschrift der Regel des heiligen Benedikt, ein mit Nekrologiumseinträgen gekoppeltes Martyrologium, Tafeln und Erklärungen zur Osterfestberechnung und eine Abschrift und Fortsetzung der St. Galler Annalen aus der Handschrift Cod. Sang. 915. Ganz hinten: zwei gedruckte Listen der St. Galler Mönche von 1757 und 1798. (smu)

Online seit: 22.06.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 479
Papier · 227 ff. · 12.5 x 10 cm · St. Gallen · 1483
Deutsches Gebetbuch der Dorothea von Hof

Die mit zwölf historisierten Initialen ausgestattete Sammelhandschrift mit deutschsprachigen Gebeten wurde von Dorothea von Hof (1458-1501), Tochter des Heinrich Ehinger und der Margarethe von Kappel geschrieben. Der Codex enthält neben dem Officium parvum BMV und verschiedenen Gebeten (v. a. Mariengebete und Gebete zur Passion Christi) die Hundert Betrachtungen aus dem Büchlein der ewigen Weisheit des Heinrich Seuse sowie Thomas von Aquin zugeschriebene Gebete. Besitzer der 1483 vollendeten Papierhandschrift waren vermutlich die Schwestern des St. Galler Dominikanerinnenklosters St. Katharina, für die Dorothea von Hof als Gönnerin bezeugt ist. (fas)

Online seit: 21.12.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 610
Papier · 521 pp. · 29 x 20.5 cm · 1452-1459
Komputistische Texte und Tabellen; Heiligen- und Märtyrerviten; Casus sancti Galli etc.

Die beiden Hauptteile der Handschrift bilden die Viten der St. Galler Hausheiligen (Gallus, Otmar, Wiborada und Notker Balbulus), der Apostel und frühchristlicher Heiliger und Märtyrer sowie die St. Galler Klosterchronik – von den Casus sancti Galli Ratperts (612-883) bis zur Continuatio des Conradus de Fabaria (1204-1234). Die Texte der Klostergeschichtsschreibung hat der St. Galler Reformator Vadian teils ausführlich und kritisch mit Randnotizen versehen. Der Codex enthält ausserdem chronikalische Notizen zu St. Gallen und der Schweiz (14./15. Jh.), die Reise in das Heilige Land des Steffan Kapfman sowie komputistische, medizinische, astronomische und theologische Texte. Auf zwei freigebliebenen Seiten (p. 324-325) hat im Jahr 1824 der St. Galler Stiftsbibliothekar Ildefons von Arx vier Rezepte zum Lesbarmachen verblasster Schrift eingetragen. (sno)

Online seit: 22.06.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 676
Pergament · 261 pp. · 24 x 18 cm · Bodenseeraum · 1080/1100
Kanonistische Sammelhandschrift des Bernold von Konstanz

Abschrift zahlreicher kanonistischer Texte, geschrieben zwischen 1080 und 1100 wohl im Kloster St. Blasien oder im Kloster Allerheiligen in Schaffhausen vom Theologen und Kanonisten Bernold von Konstanz oder von Mitarbeitern in dessen Auftrag. Enthält unter anderem Abschriften des Poenitentiales des Hrabanus Maurus ad Heribaldum, des sechsten Buchs des Poenitentiales des Halitgar von Cambrai, Exzerpte aus dem Dekret des Burchard von Worms, Beschlüsse der ersten christlichen Konzilien, die Epitome Hadriani und die Collectio 74 titulorum cum appendice Suevica. (smu)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 742
Pergament · 594 pp. · 45-45.5 x 28-29 cm · Italien und Frankreich (Buchmalerei) · zweite Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts und zweite Hälfte des 14. Jahrhunderts
Grossformatige Abschrift der im Jahr 1234 verkündeten Dekretalen Papst Gregors IX.

Repräsentative Abschrift der Dekretalen Papst Gregors IX. (Papst 1227-1241) in einer Gotico-Rotunda-Schrift aus Italien. Der Dekretalen-Text ist auf den einzelnen Seiten umgeben von der so genannten Glossa Ordinaria, einem juristischen Kommentar des Kanonisten Bernardus de Botone aus Parma († 1266), der rings um den Haupttext läuft. Dieser Kommentar ist später nochmals intensiv bearbeitet und glossiert worden. Jeder der fünf Teile ist zu Beginn mit je einer szenischen Darstellung zu deren Inhalten geschmückt. (smu)

Online seit: 31.03.2011

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 806
Papier · 420 pp. · 29 x 20 cm · Schweiz (?) · 1500/1550
Die St. Galler „Dracula“-Handschrift

Sammelhandschrift vornehmlich historiographischen und hagiographischen Inhalts. Die Texte wurden zwischen 1450 und 1550 geschrieben und 1573 vom St. Galler Mönch Mauritius Enk zu einem Band zusammengestellt. Neben einem anonym überlieferten „Dialogus de sectis“, zahlreichen deutschsprachigen Heiligenlegenden, Teilen aus der Strassburger Chronik des Jakob Twinger von Königshofen oder Konstanzer Synodalbeschlüssen von 1491 enthält die Handschrift auf den Seiten 283 bis 288 – ohne Titel und fast nahtlos in einen nachfolgenden Text übergehend – 30 kurze, um 1500 niedergeschriebene Berichte über Greueltaten des walachischen Herrschers Wlad III. Tepes (der Pfähler; 1431-1476), der als Träger des Drachenordens auch den Beinamen Dracul trug. Dieser Dracula-Text ist sonst nur in drei weiteren Handschriften überliefert: in der Klosterbibliothek von Lambach in Oberösterreich, in der British Library in London und in der Bibliothèque Municipale von Colmar. (smu)

Online seit: 31.03.2011

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 818
Pergament · 296 pp. · 27 x 19.2 cm · St. Gallen · 11. Jahrhundert
Aristoteles, Kategorien und Hermeneutik; Cicero, Topica, De optimo genere oratorum

Abschrift der Kategorien (Categoriae) und der Hermeneutik des Aristoteles in der kommentierenden lateinischen Bearbeitung des Boethius, mit der althochdeutschen Übersetzung und Kommentierung durch den St. Galler Mönch und Lehrer Notker den Deutschen († 1022); geschrieben im 11. Jahrhundert im Kloster St. Gallen. Im weiteren enthält die Handschrift Abschriften zweier Cicero-Werke, der Topica und von De optimo genere oratorum. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 868
Pergament · 205 (206) pp. · 14.5 x 10.5 cm; 9.5 x 7.5 cm; 14.5 x 12 cm · St. Gallen · 12. Jahrhundert
Horaz-Kommentar

In winziger Schrift (bis zu 110 Zeilen auf nur 14.5 cm hohen Seiten) geschriebener, anonymer Kommentar zu den Oden, Epoden, der Ars poetica, den Briefen und Sermones des Horaz. Vorangestellt sind die Horaz-Viten des Ps.-Acro und Sueton sowie auf den ersten Seiten ein Tauschbrief von 1252 und andere Urkunden. Auf den letzten Blättern folgt ein am Anfang defekter Kommentar zu den Satiren des Persius. (sno)

Online seit: 22.06.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 934
Papier · 324 ff. · 15.3 x 11 cm · St. Gallen · 15. Jahrhundert (erste Hälfte bis Mitte)
Klosterregeln, Gebete und Kurztraktate

Die Teile I, II und IV der aus vier Einheiten bestehenden deutschsprachigen Sammelhandschrift mit Klosterregeln (u. a. die ›Benediktinerregel‹), Gebeten und geistlichen Kurztexten stammen gemäss Schriftvergleich vom Benediktiner Friedrich Kölner (Köllner, Cölner, Colner), der zwischen 1429/30 und 1439 im Stift St. Gallen weilte. Teil III oder dessen Vorlage war laut einem nachträglich gestrichenen Eintrag Anna Vogelweider, Schwester im Zisterzienserinnenkloster Magdenau im Untertoggenburg, gewidmet. Diese Anna war vermutlich die Tante der in einem Schenkungsvermerk genannten Schwester Els (Elsbeth?) aus dem Schwesternhaus St. Georgen. (fas)

Online seit: 31.03.2011

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 983
Papier · 367 pp. · 32 x 22.7 cm · St. Gallen, St. Leonhard (?) · 1464
Otto von Passau, Die 24 Alten

Zur Zeit der Niederschrift des Werks Die 24 Alten, das um 1386 vollendet wurde, war der Franziskaner Otto von Passau Mitglied des Basler Minoritenklosters. Die Schrift, eine Art christliche Lebenslehre, fand als Text für die Tischlesung grosse Verbreitung in Frauenklöstern. Diese Handschrift wurde im Jahr 1464 von einer swester Endlin, wahrscheinlich im Franziskanerinnenkloster zu St. Leonhard in St. Gallen geschrieben. (ber)

Online seit: 04.11.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1878
Papier · 2 + 482 + 2 pp. · 19.5/20 x 13.5 cm · St. Katharinental bei Diessenhofen (?) · um 1400
„Engelberger Predigten“ (früher auch „Engelberger Prediger“)

Abschrift der so genannten Engelberger Predigten. Deutschsprachige Predigten für verschiedene Anlässe des Kirchenjahres, geschrieben um 1400 in einem Dominikanerinnenkloster, möglicherweise in St. Katharinental bei Diessenhofen, wo sich die Handschrift mehrere Jahrhunderte lang befand. (smu)

Online seit: 22.06.2010

Preview Page
Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina, M 3
Papier · 208 ff. · 24 x 17 cm · St. Gallen, Dominikanerinnenkonvent St. Katharina · zweite Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts
Brevier mit Kalendar

Das von den Dominikanerinnen Cordula von Schönau und Verena Gnepser aus dem Kloster St. Katharina in St. Gallen geschriebene Brevier aus der 2. Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts beinhaltet neben einem Kalendar den Sommerteil des Proprium de tempore (Ostersonntag bis 25. Sonntag nach der Pfingstoktav), das In dedicatione ecclesiae, die Collectae de sanctis et de communi sanctorum (Tiburtius und Valerian bis Dominikus), das Officium commune sanctorum sowie zwei Psalter und ein Hymnar. Im Kalendar, welches die Papierhandschrift eröffnet, finden sich von der Hand der Verena Gnepser einige Einträge mit Namen von Verwandten. Dies deutet auf die persönliche Benutzung des Breviers durch Verena Gnepser hin. (fas)

Online seit: 21.12.2010

Preview Page
Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina, M II
Pergament · 224 ff. · 53 x 39 cm · St. Gallen, Dominikanerinnenkonvent St. Katharina (?) · Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts
Antiphonar (de tempore, pars hiemalis)

Die gegen Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts geschriebene Pergamenthandschrift mit Notation und Buchschmuck beinhaltet das Proprium de tempore (Winterteil, 1. Adventssonntag bis Karfreitag). Der Text bricht in der Karfreitagsantiphon zum dritten Psalm der Laudes am Seitenende ab. Das Antiphonar befand sich im St. Galler Dominikanerinnenkonvent St. Katharina, wo es vielleicht auch geschrieben wurde. Dieselbe Hand schrieb auch die Schwesterhandschrift mit dem Sommerteil des Antiphonars (Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina, M III). (fas)

Online seit: 21.12.2010

Preview Page
Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina, M III
Pergament · 219 pp. · 53 x 39 cm · St. Gallen, Dominikanerinnenkonvent St. Katharina (?) · Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts
Antiphonar (de sanctis, pars aestivalis)

Von derselben Hand wie das Antiphonar mit dem Winterteil (Wil, Dominikanerinnenkloster St. Katharina, M II) stammt das Antiphonar zu den Heiligenfesten (Proprium de sanctis, Andreas bis Dominikus) mit der Signatur M III. Wie M II ist die ebenfalls gegen Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts geschriebene Pergamenthandschrift M III mit Notation und Buchschmuck vermutlich im St. Galler Dominikanerinnenkonvent St. Katharina entstanden. (fas)

Online seit: 21.12.2010

Dokumente: 60, angezeigt: 41 - 60