Schnyder, Gregor (1642−1708)
Volume 1 so-called Sacrarium Sancti Galli in six volumes (which could not be found at the time of Gustav Scherrer's cataloguing of manuscripts before 1875). Volumes 2 to 6 of the Sacrarium have the shelfmarks Cod. Sang. 1719−1723. This volume lists the cult objects such as chalices, statues, monstrances, candle holders, small altars, patens, censers, reliquaries, etc. that made up the church treasure of the Monastery of St. Gall in the year 1693. This overview, compiled and written by Father Gregor Schnyder (1642-1708) and dedicated to the Prince-Abbot of St. Gall Cölestin Sfondrati (1687−1696), includes historical information about the individual cult objects and illustrates these objects with 60 realistic images in opaque colors. This register is of great importance today since many of the objects were lost, were seized or were melted down during the military invasions by troops from Zurich and Bern in 1712, by the French in May 1789, through the secularization of the monastery in 1805 and the following liquidation of a great part of the abbey's property. Various works by renowned gold- and silversmiths of the early modern period (including Hans Jacob Bayr, Augsburg; Heinrich Domeisen, Rapperswil; Fidel Ramsperg, Appenzell; Johannes Renner, Wil) can be reconstructed only through this Hierogazophylacium (German: Heiligschatzbehälter, ‘container of holy treasure). Other cult objects are still part of the cathedral treasure of St. Gall today, such as the Spoon of St. Gall (p. 170b), which remains in liturgical use today, or the small reliquary monstrance containing parts of the sackcloth belt and robe of St. Gall (p. 168b). In his compilation Fr. Gregor Schnyder paid special attention to the relics contained in the various objects; he noted their origin and copied certificates about their authenticity. This volume is introduced by a frontispiece in shades of brown (fol. IIIr), which shows the founding legend of the Monastery of St. Gall with the Church of St. Gall as it appeared around 1693 in the background.
Online Since: 03/17/2016
- Schnyder, Gregor (Author)
This volume, written almost exclusively in Latin, contains a compilation of texts taken from numerous older sources about transfers of saints in the territory of the Princely Abbey of Saint Gall. The St. Gall monk and custos Gregor Schnyder (1642−1708) compiled and wrote the text, mostly in chronological order, and presented it to Abbot Leodegar Bürgisser (abbot 1696−1717) on 19 April 1699, his name day. The illustrations in opaque colors were done by Father Gabriel Hecht (1664−1745). At the beginning there are descriptions of the various transfers of the relics of Saint Gall between about 640 and 1484 (fol. IXv – p. 20) and those of Saint Othmar between 759 and 1692 (pp. 24b−99). This is followed by reports about the transfers of the relics of Notker Balbulus as well as of his beatification in 1513 (pp. 104b−163) and about the dislocation of the relics of Othmar and Notker that was necessitated by the new construction of the church of Othmar (pp. 169−286). Next are reports of donations of relics of various saints from and of the Abbey of St. Gall (pp. 287−354), among them reports about the arrival of the relics of the saints Magnus (898), Constantius of Perugia (904), Remaclus of Stavelot (1035), Faith of Agen (1084), Charles Borromeo (1611), Sigisbert and Placidus from Disentis Abbey (1624) and Bishop Landolo of Treviso (1631), which were particularly revered in the Abbey of St. Gall. The back part of the manuscript contains compilations of documents and reports about the 17th century transfers of Roman catacomb saints to the territory of the Princely Abbey of Saint Gall: there are descriptions (including the respective background and festivities) of the transfer of Honoratus to the Abbey Church of St. Gall in 1643 (pp. 367b−453), of Antoninus and Theodorus to the Abbey Church of St. Gall in 1654 and to Neu St. Johann Abbey in 1685 and of Antonius to the Abbey Church of St. Gall in 1654 (pp. 458−507), of Leander to the Capuchin Convent Maria der Engel near Wattwil in 1652 (pp. 508−513), of Marinus to Lichtensteig in 1657 (pp. 518−530), of Theodora to the Cistercian Convent Magdenau in 1662 (pp. 533−539), of Pancratius to Wil in 1672 (pp. 541−571), of Constantius to Rorschach in 1672 (pp. 573−644), of Laureatus to Wildhaus in 1676 (pp. 647−682), and of Sergius, Bacchus, Hyacinthus and Erasmus to the Abbey Church of St. Gall in 1680 (pp. 687–747).
Online Since: 09/26/2017