Select manuscript from this collection: Cod. Sang. 2  Cod. Sang. 1164 Cod. Sang. 1262  Cod. Sang. 2135  607/660
Country of Location:
Country of Location
Switzerland
Location:
Location
St. Gallen
Library / Collection:
Library / Collection
Stiftsbibliothek
Shelfmark:
Shelfmark
Cod. Sang. 1253
Manuscript Title:
Manuscript Title
Copies of certificates of admission from the episcopal chancery in Konstanz for the pastoral care of St. Gall conventuals– Report about the laying of the foundation stone for the Renaissance library of St. Gall Abbey in 1551 – Creation of an altar cross for St. Gall Abbey by the goldsmith Thomas Gennius 1553
Caption:
Caption
Paper · 194 pp. · 21.5 x 16 cm · St. Gall Abbey · 1551−1571
Language:
Language
Latin
Manuscript Summary:
Manuscript Summary
This manuscript, initiated in 1551 under Prince-Abbot Diethelm Blarer (1530−1564; colored abbot’s coat of arms on p. 2) and continued (in the first part) until 1571, consists of three parts. The beginning (pp. 5-50) consists of copies of certificates of admission for pastoral care of St. Gall conventuals in the territory of the Diocese of Konstanz, issued by the episcopal chancery in Konstanz between 1551 and 1571. The second part (pp. 131-134) gives a description of the laying of the foundation stone for the Renaissance library of St. Gall Abbey on Juli 6, 1551; it also lists the names of all persons present for this festive ceremony. The Renaissance library was completed in 1553 and was replaced with the late Baroque library between 1758 and 1767. The third part (pp. 181-183) treats the creation of a large silver altar cross by the goldsmith Thomas Gennius from Wil; St. Gall Abbot Diethelm Blarer commissioned it in 1553 and had the sculptor (sculptor?) Heinrich Reissi, who was from Rapperswil but was active in Wil, carry it to St. Gall on his back in six hours. Also mentioned are the saints relics kept in this cross. All traces of the cross are lost during the liquidation of the assets of St. Gall Abbey after the dissolution of the monastery in 1805. Between the three parts and at the end, there are numerous empty pages (pp. 51130; pp. 135178; pp. 184194). (smu)
Standard description:
Standard description
Scherrer Gustav, Verzeichniss der Handschriften der Stiftsbibliothek von St. Gallen, Halle 1875, S. 435.
Show standard description
DOI (Digital Object Identifier):
DOI (Digital Object Identifier
10.5076/e-codices-csg-1253 (http://dx.doi.org/10.5076/e-codices-csg-1253)
Permanent link:
Permanent link
http://e-codices.unifr.ch/en/list/one/csg/1253
IIIF Manifest URL:
IIIF Manifest URL
IIIF Drag-n-drop http://e-codices.unifr.ch/metadata/iiif/csg-1253/manifest.json
How to quote:
How to quote
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1253: Copies of certificates of admission from the episcopal chancery in Konstanz for the pastoral care of St. Gall conventuals– Report about the laying of the foundation stone for the Renaissance library of St. Gall Abbey in 1551 – Creation of an altar cross for St. Gall Abbey by the goldsmith Thomas Gennius 1553 (http://e-codices.unifr.ch/en/list/one/csg/1253).
Online Since:
Online Since
10/13/2016
Additional literature:
Additional literature
Additional literature – St. Galler Bibliotheksnetz (SGBN) - Verbundkatalog
Rights:
Rights
Images:
(Concerning all other rights see each manuscript description and our Terms of use)
Annotation Tool - Log in
There aren't any annotations for this manuscript. Be the first to create one!
Add an annotation
Annotation Tool - Log in
There aren't any new bibliographical references for this manuscript. Be the first to add one!
Add a bibliographical reference

Reference Images and Binding

Front cover
Front cover
Back cover
Back cover
Spine
Spine
Ruler on page
Ruler on page
Digital Colorchecker
Digital Colorchecker

Handschrift in dieser Sammlung wählen: Cod. Sang. 2  Cod. Sang. 1164 Cod. Sang. 1262  Cod. Sang. 2135  607/660
Standortland:
Standortland
Schweiz
Ort:
Ort
St. Gallen
Bibliothek / Sammlung:
Bibliothek / Sammlung
Stiftsbibliothek
Signatur:
Signatur
Cod. Sang. 1253
Handschriftentitel:
Handschriftentitel
Abschriften von Admissionsscheinen der bischöflichen Kanzlei in Konstanz für St. Galler Konventualen zur Seelsorge – Bericht über die Grundsteinlegung der Renaissance-Bibliothek des Klosters St. Gallen 1551 – Schaffung eines Altarkreuzes für das Kloster St. Gallen durch den Goldschmied Thomas Gennius 1553
Schlagzeile:
Schlagzeile
Papier · 194 pp. · 21.5 x 16 cm · Kloster St. Gallen · 1551−1571
Sprache:
Sprache
Lateinisch
Kurzcharakterisierung:
Kurzcharakterisierung
Die 1551 unter Fürstabt Diethelm Blarer (1530−1564; koloriertes Abtwappen auf p. 2) angelegte und (im ersten Teil) bis 1571 fortgeführte Handschrift besteht aus drei Teilen. Vorne (p. 550) finden sich Abschriften von Zulassungsscheinen zur Seelsorge von St. Galler Konventualen auf dem Gebiet des Bistums Konstanz, ausgestellt zwischen 1551 und 1571 durch die bischöfliche Kanzlei in Konstanz. Im zweiten Teil (p. 131134) wird die Grundsteinlegung der neuen Renaissance-Bibliothek des Klosters St. Gallen am 6. Juli 1551 geschildert; genannt sind auch die Namen aller an dieser feierlichen Zeremonie anwesenden Personen. Die Renaissance-Bibliothek wurde 1553 fertiggestellt und zwischen 1758 und 1767 durch die heutige spätbarocke Bibliothek ersetzt. Der dritte Teil (p. 181183) geht auf die Herstellung eines grossen silbernen Altarkreuzes durch den Goldschmied Thomas Gennius aus Wil ein, das der St. Galler Abt Diethelm Blarer 1553 herstellen und durch den aus Rapperswil stammenden und in Wil tätigen sculptor (Bildhauer?) Heinrich Reissi in sechs Stunden auf dem Rücken nach St. Gallen tragen liess. Genannt sind auch die in diesem Kreuz aufbewahrten Heiligenreliquien. Die Spuren des Kreuzes verlieren sich im Rahmen der Liquidierung der sanktgallischen Klostergüter nach der Klosteraufhebung 1805. Zwischen den drei Teilen und am Ende zahlreiche leere Seiten (p. 51130; p. 135178; p. 184194). (smu)
Standardbeschreibung:
Standardbeschreibung
Scherrer Gustav, Verzeichniss der Handschriften der Stiftsbibliothek von St. Gallen, Halle 1875, S. 435.
Standardbeschreibung anzeigen
DOI (Digital Object Identifier):
DOI (Digital Object Identifier
10.5076/e-codices-csg-1253 (http://dx.doi.org/10.5076/e-codices-csg-1253)
Permalink:
Permalink
http://e-codices.unifr.ch/de/list/one/csg/1253
IIIF Manifest URL:
IIIF Manifest URL
IIIF Drag-n-drop http://e-codices.unifr.ch/metadata/iiif/csg-1253/manifest.json
Wie zitieren:
Wie zitieren
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1253: Abschriften von Admissionsscheinen der bischöflichen Kanzlei in Konstanz für St. Galler Konventualen zur Seelsorge – Bericht über die Grundsteinlegung der Renaissance-Bibliothek des Klosters St. Gallen 1551 – Schaffung eines Altarkreuzes für das Kloster St. Gallen durch den Goldschmied Thomas Gennius 1553 (http://e-codices.unifr.ch/de/list/one/csg/1253).
Online seit:
Online seit
13.10.2016
Neuere Literatur:
Neuere Literatur
Neuere Literatur – St. Galler Bibliotheksnetz (SGBN) - Verbundkatalog
Rechte:
Rechte
Bilder:
(Hinsichtlich aller anderen Rechte, siehe die jeweilige Handschriftenbeschreibung und unsere Nutzungsbestimmungen)
Annotationswerkzeug - Anmelden
Es gibt noch keine Annotationen zu dieser Handschrift. Erstellen Sie die erste!
Eine Annotation hinzufügen
Annotationswerkzeug - Anmelden
Es gibt noch keine zusätzliche bibliographische Angaben zu dieser Handschrift. Fügen Sie die erste hinzu!
Eine bibliographische Angabe hinzufügen

Referenzbilder und Einband

Vorderseite
Vorderseite
Rückseite
Rückseite
Buchrücken
Buchrücken
Massstab auf Hs.-Seite
Massstab auf Hs.-Seite
Digital Colorchecker
Digital Colorchecker