Documents: 53, displayed: 21 - 40

Sub-project: Fragmenta Bongarsiana

Start: March 2018

Status: In progress

Financed by: Burgerbibliothek Bern, swissuniversities, SNF

Description: Together with the Burgerbibliothek Bern, we have facilitated the digitization of approximately 150 fragments of parchment. Most of these are from the collection of Jacques Bongars (1554-1612), who had a philological interest in rare texts, as did Pierre Pithou (1539-1596) and especially Pierre Daniel (1530-1603), with whom Bongars was closely associated. Jacques Bongars and Pierre Daniel are among the earliest scholars to have shown an interest in fragments. The Bernese fragment collection is unique because it contains not only manuscript waste, but also a large number of manuscripts that have been transmitted in incomplete form, for example, with only a single quire or a part thereof to have survived. In the course of making these texts accessible through e-codices, many fragments were identified for the first time. Most of these were known texts or authors, but some spectacular new discoveries were made of previously unknown texts on biblical exegesis from the Carolingian epoch. In the coming years, the collection will be published in parallel in e-codices and in Fragmentarium.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.66
Parchment · 3 ff. · 17.5 x 26.5; 19 x 38; 17 x 14.5 cm · 1538-1569
Manuscript waste from Cod. 120

These three documents are from the previous binding of Cod. 120 (now 120-1 and 120-2), from which they were removed during restoration. They are two documents from the imperial court of the tribunal of the Counts of Sulz in Rottweil (no. 1 and 3) and a fragment of a bill of sale issued in Strasbourg. (mit)

Online Since: 03/22/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.69
Parchment · 2 ff. · 29 x 19 cm; 29 x 22.5 cm · France · around 1439
Transcription of a document (fragment)

Two leaves that originally belonged together, from a copy of a document dated 8 March 1439; in 1935 they were removed during the restoration of Cod. 207 at the Burgerbibliothek Bern. In the text on f. 1r and 2r, Charles, Duke of Orléans and of Valois (1394-1465), and Jean the Bastard of Orléans (= Jean de Dunois, 1402-1468) are mentioned. (mit)

Online Since: 07/02/2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.70
Parchment · 9 ff. · 33-34 x 25.5-26.5 cm · France: Tours · early 9th century
Biblia latina: Vulgata, recensio Alcuini (fragment)

Remnants of an Alcuin's Bible from the Dominican Monastery of Bern, which were used around 1495 by the bookbinder Johannes Vatter as pastedowns for various incunables that are currently held in Bern and Solothurn. After the secularization of the monastery in 1528, the host volumes (MUE Inc. III.15, Vol. 3–4; the strip of Cod. 756.70e is from MUE Inc. I.6), perhaps as part of a bequest of books by the Venner [standard bearer] Jürg Schöni in 1534, became part of the Bern library. Around 1945, the fragments were removed from the host volumes by Johannes Lindt. Reunification of the fragments: [sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina). (mit)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.71
Parchment · 2 ff. · 26.5 x 33.5/31.5 cm · France, Tours · early 9th century
Biblia latina: Vulgata, recensio Alcuini (fragment)

Remnants of an Alcuin's Bible from the Dominican Monastery of Bern, which were used around 1495 by the bookbinder Johannes Vatter as pastedowns for various incunables that are currently held in Bern and Solothurn. After the secularization of the monastery in 1528, the host volume (MUE Inc. III.15, Vol. 1) perhaps as part of a bequest of books by the Venner [standard bearer] Jürg Schöni in 1534, became part of the Bern library. Around 1945, the fragments were removed from the host volumes by Johannes Lindt. Reunification of the fragments: [sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina). (mit)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.72
Parchment · 1 f. · 13 x 31 cm · 1580-1590
French notarial document (manuscript waste as binding of Cod. 172)

This fragment was removed from Cod. 172‬‬ during the restoration of the previous binding; presumably it originated in the legal office of Pierre Daniels in Orléans, as attested by the fact that his name is on the document. (mit)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.77
Parchment · 2 ff. · 32.5 x 21 cm · Germany · 10th century
Gregorius Magnus: Homiliae in Ezechielem (fragment)

Bifolium from a manuscript probably made in Germany, containing Gregory the Great’s Homiliae in Ezechielem. The fragment was purchased by the City Library of Bern in 1937 as part of the von Mülinen family's collection, although it is not recorded in Gottfried v. Mülinen’s catalogue, which was compiled in 1837. (mit)

Online Since: 07/02/2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.78
Parchment · 2 ff. · 26 x 13 cm · Southern Germany · beginning of the 14th century
Ulrich von dem Türlin: Arabel (fragment)

Remnants of a manuscript of the Arabel by Ulrich von dem Türlin, which constitutes the backstory to the Willehalm by Wolfram von Eschenbach. Purchased by the Burgerbibliothek in 1937 from Hans Peter Kraus, antiquarian book dealer in Vienna. (mit/san)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.84
Parchment · 2 ff. · 37 x 24.5 cm; 34.5 x 25 cm · 15th century
Plenarium (Fragment)

The two fragments come from the previous binding of Cod. 125‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬, from which they were removed during restoration; presumably they contain parts of a plenarium with musical notation. (mit)

Online Since: 06/23/2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.86
Parchment · 1 f. · 33.5 x 31.5 cm · Switzerland: Engelberg? · beginning of the 13th century
Liber Officii et Missae (fragment)

Fragment from a choir book with neumes (Proprium Sanctorum) for Benedictines in the Diocese of Constance, with a large initial H for the Matins of Candlemas (f. 1vb). This leaf is from a manuscript that was perhaps produced in Engelberg for the monastery of Augustinian Canons Regular at Interlaken; since the 16th century it served as the cover of a book of accounts in Meiringen. In 1940 it was acquired by the City Library of Bern through an exchange with the State Archives of Bern. (mit)

Online Since: 07/02/2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.95
Parchment · 1 f. · 17 x 27 cm · Switzerland: Engelberg · around 1200
Flavius Josephus: Antiquitates Iudaicae (fragment)

Single leaf with a splendid initial from a richly illustrated manuscript of Flavius Josephus’ Antiquitates Iudaicae from the monastery of Engelberg; around 1600 it was sold by Abbot Andreas Hersch or Abbot Melchior Kitz to the Zurich bookseller and bookbinder Johann Felix Haller (active 1603-1637) and was then used by him as manuscript waste for a historical work by Hans Felix Grob the Younger (1572-1653). It is unclear when this volume reached the City Library of Bern and when it was assigned the shelf mark Mss.h.h.XXIa.25; the binding manuscript waste was removed by Johann Lindt in 1941. (mit)

Online Since: 07/02/2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.98
Parchment · 1 f. · 36 x 23 cm · France: Strasbourg area · 10th/11th century
Utho Argentinensis: Vita sancti Arbogasti (fragment)

This fragment, consisting of 1 leaf, contains an excerpt from a missal with neumes, which probably originated in the Strasbourg area based on its contents, the celebration of St. Arbogast. Around 1650 it was re-used, presumably in Bern, as dust cover for a school notebook of Niclaus Frisching (BBB Mss.h.h. XXIV.183), from which it was removed in 1944. (mit)

Online Since: 07/02/2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.99
Parchment · 2 ff. · 24 x 20 cm · France: central Loire area · second third of the 9th century
Hrabanus Maurus: Commentarius in Evangelii Matthaei [excerpts in Tironian notes] (fragment)

Bifolium from a commentary on the Gospel of Matthew by Hrabanus Maurus, from the Loire region and written largely in Tironian notes. The provenance initially suggests that it may be part of the Bongarsiana, but apparently the City Library of Bern purchased the fragment only in 1937 with the collection of the von Mülinen family; the fragment was discovered in December 1954 in a collection of papers that were part of the family library. (mit)

Online Since: 07/02/2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.100
Parchment · 2 ff. · 32 x 23 cm · France (Northern?) · middle of the 12th century
Gregorius Magnus: Moralia in Hiob (fragment)

Bifolium from a manuscript of Gregory the Great’s Moralia in Hiob, probably written in France; in the 16th century it was used as binding for orders and statutes of the County of Lenzburg. Initially the property of the von Hallwyl family, it was later acquired by Wolfgang Friedrich von Mülinen (1863-1917) and then presumably purchased by the City Library of Bern in 1937 along with the Mülinen Collection. In 1954 it was removed from the host volume (BBB Mss.Mül.377). (mit)

Online Since: 07/02/2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 91.2
Parchment · 9 ff. · 20 x 14 cm · France: probably in the area of Reims-Laon-Soissons · 1st half of the 10th century and 3rd third of the 9th century (f. 5)
Augustinus: Retractationes; Texts on the exegesis of the Gospels; Opus incertum de virtutibus et vitiis (fragment)

This quire of 8 leaves probably originated in the circle of John Scotus (in the area of Reims-Laon-Soissons). It contains a fragment of Augustine’s Retractationes and, after that, some previously unknown exegetical texts on the Gospels. A leaf (f. 5) that is several decades older was inserted into the quire, possibly from the model used for this text; it contains another unknown text on the virtues and vices. This fragment came to Bern in 1632 as part of the bequest of Jacques Bongars. (mit)

Online Since: 06/13/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 91.8
Parchment · 5 ff. · 30 x 21.5 cm · France: Luxeuil · beginning of the 8th century
Augustinus: De genesi ad litteram (fragment)

Bifolium and 3 fragments of another bifolium of a manuscript of Augustine’s De genesi ad litteram, written in uncial script and possibly produced in Luxeuil; other parts were identified in Paris, BN lat. 9377. The manuscript came to Bern in 1632 from the holdings of Jacques Bongars. At the time of Hermann Hagen (around 1870), the fragments, originally bound as f. 1-2 and 227-229 in Cod. 224 (composite manuscript containing texts by Isidore), were removed and preserved separately; they were given a new binding by Johann Lindt in 1944. (mit)

Online Since: 06/18/2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 94.4
Parchment · 8 ff. · 31.5-32 x 21-21.5 cm · France: area of Orléans · 1st quarter of the 9th century
Commentarius in Psalmos; Commentarius in Proverbia Salomonis (fragment)

This fragment consists of 8 leaves from a large-format manuscript that has long been associated with Theodulf of Orléans. It is actually a quire from Theodulf’s composite manuscript of biblical exegesis, which had until now been thought lost; its remaining parts are contained in MS Paris, BN lat. 15679. The quire, now bound, contains the end of the commentary on the Psalms as well as the beginning of the commentary on the Proverbia Salomonis. Thanks to a partially erased note of ownership, it can be demonstrated that this fragment once was the property of the Abbey of Saint-Mesmin, Micy; in 1632 it came to Bern as part of the bequest of Jacques Bongars. (mit)

Online Since: 06/13/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.1
Paper · 4 ff. · 27.5 x 20 cm · France · 1370-1380
Fragment of a chansonnier: Trouvère c

Fragment of a 14th century French Trouvère manuscript. It contains 18 jeux-partis (17 with the participation of Jehan Bretel) and a fragment of the Prise amoureuse by Jean Acart de Hesdin; all chansons except for one are attested in the parallel version. The songs have been transmitted without notation. (mit/hop)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.2
Parchment · 38 ff. · 14-14.5 x 10-10.5 cm · Northern France or Flanders · beginning of the 14th century (around 1314–1316)
Lanfrancus Mediolanensis: Surgery

Fragment of a contemporaneous French translation of the Chirurgia parva by Lanfranc of Milan. This small-format booklet is incomplete; it presents the oldest remaining witness of the work; the other four surviving manuscripts all date from the 15th century. Based on a text comparison with the Latin version, one must probably assume the loss of a quire at the front as well as at the back. (mit)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.3
Parchment · 4 ff. · 15.5 x 11.5 cm · France · 14th century
Tractatus de peccatis; Poème pieux (fragment)

The Latin part of this fragment (f. 1r3r) contains a collection of excerpts from various authors regarding sins and penance, morals, etc. The French part (f. 3v4v) contains one or two poem(s) in verse, which seem to have survived only in this fragment. (mit)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.4
Parchment · 13 ff. · 14 x 10 cm · France · 2nd half of the 13th century
Maurice de Sully: sermons (fragment)

Fragment of a small-format manuscript with sermons by Maurice de Sully. It contains sermons 27–36, however, the quires are arranged incorrectly: the text of quire 2 (f. 913) is followed by the text of quire 1 (f. 18). (mit)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Documents: 53, displayed: 21 - 40

Dokumente: 53, angezeigt: 21 - 40

Teilprojekt: Fragmenta Bongarsiana

Beginn: März 2018

Status: Laufend

Finanziert durch: Burgerbibliothek Bern, swissuniversities, SNF

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: In Zusammenarbeit mit der Burgerbibliothek Bern wurde die Digitalisierung von 150 Pergamentfragmenten ermöglicht. Die meisten derselben stammen aus der Sammlung Jacques Bongars (1554-1612), der wie Pierre Pithou (1539-1596) und besonders Pierre Daniel (1530-1603), mit welchem Bongars besonders stark verbunden war, ein philologisches Interesse an selten überlieferten Texten besass. Jacques Bongars und Pierre Daniel gehörten zu den ersten Gelehrten, die sich für Fragmente interessierten. Aus diesem Grunde ist die Berner Fragmentensammlung einmalig, da sie nicht nur aus Makulatur besteht, sondern auch aus einer großen Anzahl unvollständig überlieferten Handschriften, von denen zum Beispiel nur eine einzelne Lage oder ein Teil davon gesammelt wurde. Im Rahmen der Erschliessung für e-codices konnten zahlreiche Fragmente erstmals identifiziert werden. Meistens handelt es sich dabei um bekannte Texte bzw. Autoren, es gelangen aber auch spektakuläre Neufunde von bislang gänzlich unbekannten Texten zur Bibelexegese aus karolingischer Zeit. Die Sammlung wird in den nächsten Jahren parallel auf e-codices und Fragmentarium veröffentlicht.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.66
Pergament · 3 ff. · 17.5 x 26.5; 19 x 38; 17 x 14.5 cm · 1538-1569
Urkundenmakulatur aus Cod. 120

Die drei Urkunden stammen aus dem Vorgängereinband von Cod. 120 (jetzt 120-1 und 120-2), aus dem sie bei der Restaurierung entfernt wurden; es handelt sich um zwei Hofgerichts-Urkunden der Grafen zu Sulz in Rottweil (Nr. 1 und 3) sowie um ein Fragment einer in Strassburg ausgestellten Kaufurkunde. (mit)

Online seit: 22.03.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.69
Pergament · 2 ff. · 29 x 19 cm; 29 x 22.5 cm · Frankreich · um 1439
Urkundenabschrift (Fragment)

Zwei ursprünglich zusammengehörige Blätter einer Urkundenabschrift, datiert 8. März 1439, die 1935 bei der Restaurierung von Burgerbibliothek Bern, Cod. 207 abgelöst wurden. Im Text auf f. 1r und 2r werden Charles Duc d’Orléans et de Vallois (1394–1465) und Jehan Bastard d’Orléans (= Jean de Dunois, 1402–1468) genannt. (mit)

Online seit: 02.07.2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.70
Pergament · 9 ff. · 33-34 x 25.5-26.5 cm · Frankreich: Tours · frühes 9. Jahrhundert
Biblia latina: Vulgata, recensio Alcuini (Fragment)

Reste einer Alkuinbibel aus dem Dominikanerkloster Bern, die um 1495 durch den Buchbinder Johannes Vatter als Spiegelblätter verschiedener heute in Bern und Solothurn befindlicher Inkunabeln verwendet wurden. Nach Aufhebung des Klosters 1528 gelangten die Trägerbände (MUE Inc. III.15, Bd. 3–4; der Streifen von Cod. 756.70e stammt aus MUE Inc. I.6) vielleicht mit dem Büchervermächtnis des Venners Jürg Schöni 1534 in den Besitz der Berner Bibliothek. Um 1945 wurden die Fragmente durch Johannes Lindt aus den Trägerbänden abgelöst. Zusammenführung der Fragmente: [sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina). (mit)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.71
Pergament · 2 ff. · 26.5 x 33.5/31.5 cm · Frankreich: Tours · frühes 9. Jahrhundert
Biblia latina: Vulgata, recensio Alcuini (Fragment)

Reste einer Alkuinbibel aus dem Dominikanerkloster Bern, die um 1495 durch den Buchbinder Johannes Vatter als Spiegelblätter verschiedener heute in Bern und Solothurn befindlicher Inkunabeln verwendet wurden. Nach Aufhebung des Klosters 1528 gelangte der Trägerband (MUE Inc. III.15, Bd. 1) vielleicht mit dem Büchervermächtnis des Venners Jürg Schöni 1534 in den Besitz der Berner Bibliothek. Um 1945 wurden die Fragmente durch Johannes Lindt aus den Trägerbänden abgelöst. Zusammenführung der Fragmente: [sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina). (mit)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.72
Pergament · 1 f. · 13 x 31 cm · 1580-1590
Französische Notariatsurkunde (Einbandmakulatur von Cod. 172)

Das Fragment wurde bei der Restaurierung des Vorgängereinbandes von Cod. 172‬‬ entfernt; es stammt vermutlich aus der Anwaltskanzlei Pierre Daniels in Orléans, wie dessen Name auf der Urkunde bezeugt. (mit)

Online seit: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.77
Pergament · 2 ff. · 32.5 x 21 cm · Deutschland · 10. Jahrhundert
Gregorius Magnus: Homiliae in Ezechielem (Fragment)

Doppelblatt aus einer wohl in Deutschland entstandenen Handschrift mit den Homiliae in Ezechielem Gregors des Grossen. Das Fragment wurde 1937 mit der Sammlung der Familie von Mülinen von der Stadtbibliothek Bern angekauft, ist jedoch im 1837 erstellten Katalog des Gottfried v. Mülinen nicht nachweisbar. (mit)

Online seit: 02.07.2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.78
Pergament · 2 ff. · 26 x 13 cm · Süddeutschland · Anfang 14. Jh.
Ulrich von dem Türlin: Arabel (Fragment)

Reste einer Handschrift des Arabel Ulrichs von dem Türlin. Es handelt sich dabei um die Vorgeschichte des Willehalm Wolframs von Eschenbach. 1937 von der Burgerbibliothek bei Hans Peter Kraus, Antiquar in Wien, erworben. (mit/san)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.84
Pergament · 2 ff. · 37 x 24.5 cm; 34.5 x 25 cm · 15. Jahrhundert
Plenarium (Fragment)

Die beiden Fragmente stammen aus dem Vorgängereinband von Cod. 125‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬, aus dem sie bei der Restaurierung entfernt wurden; sie enthalten vermutlich Teile eines Plenariums, mit Notenschrift. (mit)

Online seit: 23.06.2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.86
Pergament · 1 f. · 33.5 x 31.5 cm · Schweiz: Engelberg? · Anfang des 13. Jahrhunderts
Liber Officii et Missae (Fragment)

Bruchstück aus einem neumierten Chorbuch (Proprium Sanctorum) für Benediktiner in der Diözese Konstanz, mit grosser Initiale H zur Lichtmessmatutin (f. 1vb). Das Blatt der möglicherweise in Engelberg für das Augustinerchorherrenstift Interlaken hergestellten Handschrift diente seit dem 16. Jh. als Umschlag eines Rechnungsbuches in Meiringen und wurde 1940 von der Berner Stadtbibliothek im Tausch mit dem Staatsarchiv Bern erworben. (mit)

Online seit: 02.07.2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.95
Pergament · 1 f. · 17 x 27 cm · Schweiz: Engelberg · Um 1200
Flavius Josephus: Antiquitates Iudaicae (Fragment)

Einzelblatt mit prächtiger Initiale aus einer reich illustrierten Handschrift der Antiquitates Iudaicae des Flavius Josephus aus dem Kloster Engelberg, die um 1600 durch Abt Andreas Hersch oder Abt Melchior Kitz an den Zürcher Buchhändler und Buchbinder Johann Felix Haller (tätig 1603–1637) verkauft und von diesem für ein Geschichtswerk des Hans Felix Grob d. Jüngeren (1572–1653) makuliert wurde. Wann der Band in die Berner Stadtbibliothek gelangte und als Mss.h.h.XXIa.25 aufgestellt wurde, ist unklar; die Einbandmakulatur wurde 1941 von Johann Lindt abgelöst. (mit)

Online seit: 02.07.2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.98
Pergament · 1 f. · 36 x 23 cm · Frankreich: Raum Strassburg · 10./11. Jahrhundert
Utho Argentinensis: Vita sancti Arbogasti (Fragment)

Das 1 Blatt umfassende Fragment enthält einen Auszug aus einem neumierten Missale, das aufgrund seines Inhalts, der Feier des heiligen Arbogast, im Raum Strassburg entstanden sein dürfte. Es wurde um 1650 vermutlich in Bern wiederverwendet als Schutzumschlag für ein Schulheft des Niclaus Frisching (BBB Mss.h.h. XXIV.183), von dem es 1944 abgelöst wurde. (mit)

Online seit: 02.07.2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.99
Pergament · 2 ff. · 24 x 20 cm · Frankreich: Mittleres Loiregebiet · zweites Drittel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Hrabanus Maurus: Commentarius in Evangelii Matthaei [Auszüge in Tironischen Noten]

Doppelblatt aus einem aus dem Loiregebiet stammenden und weitgehend in Tironischen Noten verfassten Kommentar zum Matthaeus-Evangelium des Hrabanus Maurus. Die Provenienz lässt zunächst an eine Zugehörigkeit zur Bongarsiana denken, jedoch wurde das Fragment offenbar erst 1937 mit der Sammlung der Familie von Mülinen von der Stadtbibliothek Bern angekauft und Dezember 1954 in einem Konvolut der Familienbibliothek entdeckt. (mit)

Online seit: 02.07.2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.100
Pergament · 2 ff. · 32 x 23 cm · Frankreich (Nord?) · Mitte des 12. Jahrhunderts
Gregorius Magnus: Moralia in Hiob (Fragment)

Doppelblatt aus einer wohl in Frankreich entstandenen Handschrift der Moralia in Hiob Gregors des Grossen, das im 16. Jahrhundert als Einband von Ordnungen und Satzungen der Grafschaft Lenzburg verwendet wurde. Zunächst im Besitz der Familie von Hallwyl, dann durch Wolfgang Friedrich von Mülinen (1863–1917) erworben und vermutlich 1937 mit der Mülinen-Sammlung von der Stadtbibliothek Bern angekauft. 1954 vom Trägerband (BBB Mss.Mül.377) abgelöst. (mit)

Online seit: 02.07.2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 91.2
Pergament · 9 ff. · 20 x 14 cm · Frankreich: vermutlich Raum Reims-Laon-Soissons · 1. Hälfte 10. Jahrhundert bzw. 3. Drittel 9. Jahrhundert (f. 5)
Augustinus: Retractationes; Texte zur Evangelienexegese; Opus incertum de virtutibus et vitiis (Fragment)

Vermutlich im Umkreis des Johannes Scotus Raum (Reims-Laon-Soissons) entstandene Lage von 8 Blättern, die nach einem Bruchstück von Augustins Retractationes bislang unbekannte Texte zur Evangelienexegese enthält. Darin eingelegt (f. 5) ist ein um einige Jahrzehnte älteres Blatt, möglicherweise aus der Vorlage, mit einem ebenfalls unbekannten Text zu den Tugenden und Lastern. Das Fragment gelangte 1632 aus dem Besitz von Jacques Bongars nach Bern. (mit)

Online seit: 13.06.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 91.8
Pergament · 5 ff. · 30 x 21.5 cm · Frankreich: Luxeuil · Anfang 8. Jahrhundert
Augustinus: De genesi ad litteram (Fragment)

Doppelblatt und 3 Fragmente eines weiteren Doppelblattes einer möglicherweise in Luxeuil entstandenen Unzialhandschrift von Augustins De genesi ad litteram, von der weitere Teile in Paris, BnF lat. 9377 identifiziert wurden. Die Handschrift gelangte 1632 aus dem Besitz von Jacques Bongars nach Bern. Zur Zeit von Hermann Hagen (um 1870) wurden die Fragmente, die ursprünglich als f. 1–2 und 227–229 in Cod. 224 (Sammelband mit Isidor-Texten) eingebunden waren, abgelöst und separat aufgestellt; sie erhielten 1944 durch Johann Lindt einen neuen Einband. (mit)

Online seit: 18.06.2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 94.4
Pergament · 8 ff. · 31.5-32 x 21-21.5 cm · Frankreich: Raum Orléans · 1. Viertel 9. Jahrhundert
Commentarius in Psalmos; Commentarius in Proverbia Salomonis (Fragment)

Acht Blätter einer grossformatigen Handschrift, die bereits seit längerer Zeit mit Theodulf von Orléans in Verbindung gebracht wurden. Tatsächlich handelt es sich um eine bislang verloren geglaubte Lage aus dem bibelexegetischen Sammelband des Theodulf, deren übrige Teile in Paris, BN lat. 15679 enthalten sind. Die heute verbundene Lage umfasst den Schluss des Psalmenkommentars sowie den Beginn eines Kommentars zu den Proverbia Salomonis. Aufgrund eines teilweise radierten Besitzeintrags lässt sich die Zugehörigkeit zur Abtei Saint-Mesmin de Micy belegen. Das Fragment gelangte 1632 aus dem Besitz von Jacques Bongars nach Bern. (mit)

Online seit: 13.06.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.1
Papier · 4 ff. · 27.5 x 20 cm · Frankreich · 1370-1380
Chansonnier-Fragment: Trouvère c

Fragment einer französischen Trouvère-Handschrift des 14. Jahrhunderts. Enthält 18 Jeux-partis (17 mit Beteiligung von Jehan Bretel) und ein Fragment der Prise amoureuse des Jean Acart de Hesdin; alle Chansons bis auf eines sind in der Parallelüberlieferung bezeugt. Die Lieder sind ohne Notation überliefert. (mit/hop)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.2
Pergament · 38 ff. · 14-14.5 x 10-10.5 cm · Nordfrankreich oder Flandern · Anfang 14. Jh. (um 1314–1316)
Lanfranc de Milan: Chirurgie

Fragment einer zeitnahen französischen Übersetzung der Chirurgia parva des Lanfranc von Mailand. Das unvollständig erhaltene kleinformatige Büchlein bildet den ältesten erhaltenen Textzeugen des Werkes: die übrigen vier erhaltenen Handschriften stammen alle aus dem 15. Jh. Aufgrund des Textvergleiches mit der lateinischen Ausgabe ist vorne und hinten wohl vom Verlust von je 1 Lage auszugehen. (mit)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.3
Pergament · 4 ff. · 15.5 x 11.5 cm · Frankreich · 14. Jh.
Tractatus de peccatis; Poème pieux (Fragment)

Der lateinische Teil des Fragments (f. 1r3r) enthält eine Sammlung von Auszügen aus verschiedenen Autoren zu Sünden und Busse, Moral etc. Der französische Teil (f. 3v4v) enthält ein oder zwei offenbar unikal überlieferte Gedicht(e) in Versform. (mit)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.4
Pergament · 13 ff. · 14 x 10 cm · Frankreich · 2. Hälfte 13. Jh.
Maurice de Sully: Sermons (Fragment)

Fragment einer kleinformatigen Handschrift mit Predigten des Maurice de Sully. Enthalten sind die Sermons 27–36, die Lagen sind jedoch in der falschen Reihenfolge foliiert: Auf den Text von Lage 2 (f. 913) folgt der Text von Lage 1 (f. 18). (mit)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Dokumente: 53, angezeigt: 21 - 40