Select manuscript from this collection: RCap 14  S 51 S 94  S 108  6/19
Country of Location:
Country of Location
Switzerland
Location:
Location
Sion/Sitten
Library / Collection:
Library / Collection
Médiathèque Valais
Shelfmark:
Shelfmark
S 56
Manuscript Title:
Manuscript Title
Composite manuscript with Latin texts (Gasparinus Barzizius, Boethius, Hieronymus de Vallibus, Sallust, Augustinus Datus)
Caption:
Caption
Paper · IX + 194 + II ff. · 20.5 x 28 cm · Basel · ca. 1472-1474
Language:
Language
Latin
Manuscript Summary:
Manuscript Summary
This volume, S 56, from the library of Walter Supersaxo (ca. 1402-1482), Bishop of Sion, and of his son Georg (ca. 1450-1529) in five parts brings together various Latin texts, classical texts as well as works by Italian humanists; the first two parts are printed (with initials in red and green), the latter three are handwritten. The first part, printed around 1472 by Michael Wenssler and Friedrich Biel in Basel (GW 3676), contains the Epistolae by the humanist and professor of rhetoric Gasparino Barzizza from Bergamo (ca. 1360-1431). This is followed by The Consolation of Philosophy by Boethius, also from the workshop of Michael Wenssler in Basel from about 1473-1474 (GW 4514). Next is the first handwritten text (incomplete, with marginal and interlinear glosses), Jesuida seu De passione Christi by the humanist and physician Girolamo della Valle from Padua († ca. 1458 or 1494). This work, written in hexameter and dedicated to Pietro Donato, Bishop of Padua from 1428 until 1447, was most likely copied from the edition of about 1474 that was printed by Michael Wenssler in Basel (GW M49385) and that also served as model for the lay-out. The fourth part contains the Catiline conspiracy by Sallust. At the end of the volume, the fifth part is made up of three works by two authors (with marginal and interlinear glosses; initials in red and green); due to a bookbinder’s error, the order of the quires is mixed up. This fifth part contains the Elegantiolae (the order for reading would be: ff. 1r-10v, 27r-38v, 11r-20r) by the humanist and professor of rhetoric Agostino Dati from Siena (*1420 or 1428, †1478), as well as two treatises by Gasparino Barzizza, which are already included in the printed part, the Praeceptorum summula (ff. 20r-21v) and the Modus orandi (ff. 21v-26v, 39r-43r). The three handwritten parts of the volume were produced by different hands, among them that of the anonymous scribe of Georg Supersaxo. S 56 therefore is comparable to the other manuscripts (S 51, S 101, S 105) that were made for Georg Supersaxo at the time when the young man studied law in Basel (around 1472-1474). Among the annotations on the flyleaves one can recognize a note of ownership by his father Walter Supersaxon, Bishop of Sion (f. N2r). (esc)
DOI (Digital Object Identifier):
DOI (Digital Object Identifier
10.5076/e-codices-mvs-S-0056 (http://dx.doi.org/10.5076/e-codices-mvs-S-0056)
Permanent link:
Permanent link
http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/en/list/one/mvs/S-0056
IIIF Manifest URL:
IIIF Manifest URL
IIIF Drag-n-drop http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/metadata/iiif/mvs-S-0056/manifest.json
How to quote:
How to quote
Sion/Sitten, Médiathèque Valais, S 56: Composite manuscript with Latin texts (Gasparinus Barzizius, Boethius, Hieronymus de Vallibus, Sallust, Augustinus Datus) (http://www.e-codices.unifr.ch/en/list/one/mvs/S-0056).
Online Since:
Online Since
03/22/2018
Rights:
Rights
Images:
(Concerning all other rights see each manuscript description and our Terms of use)
Annotation Tool - Log in
There aren't any annotations for this manuscript. Be the first to create one!
Add an annotation
Annotation Tool - Log in

J. Christopher WARNER, « Quick Eloquence in the Late Renaissance: Agostino Dati’s Elegantiolae », dans Humanistica Lovaniensia : Journal of Neo-Latin Studies, 61 (2012), p. 65-240

Paul Richard BLUM, « Dati, Agostino », dans Lexikon des Mittelalters, vol. 3, Stuttgart/Weimar, 1999, col. 574

Ralf Georg CZAPLA, Das Bibelepos in der Frühen Neuzeit. Zur deutschen Geschichte einer europäischen Gattung, Berlin/Boston, 2013 (Studien und Dokumente zur deutschen Literatur und Kultur im europäischen Kontext: Frühe Neuzeit, 165), p. 126 sqq. [Girolamo della Valle]

Ludwig BERTALOT, « Die älteste Briefsammlung des Gasparinus Barzizza », dans Studien zum italienischen und deutschen Humanismus, éd. Paul Oskar KRISTELLER, Rome, 1975, vol. 2 (Storia e letteratura : raccolta di studi et testi, 130), p. 31-102

Fritz SCHALK, « Barzizza, Gasparino », dans Lexikon des Mittelalters, vol. 1, Stuttgart/Weimar, 1999, col. 1502

Rudolf RIGGENBACH, « Die Bibliothek de Lavallaz in Sitten », dans Le Collectionneur suisse, 5 (1931), p. 33-35, 52-56, 85-88, voir p. 87-88

André DONNET, « Inventaire de la Bibliothèque Supersaxo », dans Vallesia, 29 (1974), p. 31-106, voir p. 36-37, 60-61

Add a bibliographical reference

Reference Images and Binding

Front cover
Front cover
Back cover
Back cover
Spine
Spine
Ruler on page
Ruler on page
Digital Colorchecker
Digital Colorchecker

Sélectionner un manuscrit de cette collection: RCap 14  S 51 S 94  S 108  6/19
Pays de conservation:
Pays de conservation
Suisse
Lieu:
Lieu
Sion/Sitten
Bibliothèque / Collection:
Bibliothèque / Collection
Médiathèque Valais
Cote:
Cote
S 56
Titre du manuscrit:
Titre du manuscrit
Recueil de textes latins (Gasparinus Barzizius, Boethius, Hieronymus de Vallibus, Sallustius, Augustinus Datus)
Caractéristiques:
Caractéristiques
Papier · IX + 194 + II ff. · 20.5 x 28 cm · Bâle · ca. 1472-1474
Langue:
Langue
Latin
Résumé du manuscrit:
Résumé du manuscrit
Le volume S 56 de la bibliothèque de l’évêque de Sion Walter Supersaxo (ca. 1402-1482) et de son fils Georges (ca. 1450-1529) regroupe différents textes latins, tant des classiques que des œuvres d’humanistes italiens, dans cinq parties distinctes, dont les deux premières sont imprimées (avec initiales rouge et vert), et les trois suivantes manuscrites. La première partie, imprimée vers 1472 chez Michael Wenssler et Friedrich Biel à Bâle (GW 3676), contient les Epistolae de l’humaniste et professeur de rhétorique Gasparino Barzizza, de Bergame (ca. 1360-1431). Elle est suivie de la Consolation de Philosophie de Boèce, issue de l’officine du même Michael Wenssler à Bâle, vers 1473-1474 (GW 4514). L’on trouve ensuite le premier texte manuscrit (inachevé ; avec annotations marginales et interlinéaires), Jesuida seu De passione Christi de l’humaniste et médecin Girolamo della Valle, de Padoue (mort ca. 1458 ou 1494). Cette œuvre en hexamètres dédiée à Pietro Donato, évêque de Padoue de 1428 à 1447, a été vraisemblablement copiée sur l’édition de ca. 1474 chez Michael Wenssler à Bâle (GW M49385), qui a aussi servi de modèle pour la mise en page. La quatrième partie comporte la Conjuration de Catilina de Salluste. A la fin du volume, en cinquième partie, figurent trois œuvres de deux auteurs (avec annotations marginales et interlinéaires ; initiales rouge et vert), entremêlées suite à une erreur du relieur dans l’ordre des cahiers : il s’agit des Elegantiolae (dans l’ordre de lecture : ff. 1r-10v, 27r-38v, 11r-20r) de l’humaniste et professeur de rhétorique Agostino Dati, de Sienne (*1420 ou 1428, mort en 1478), ainsi que de deux traités de Gasparino Barzizza, déjà représenté dans la partie imprimée, la Praeceptorum summula (ff. 20r-21v) et le Modus orandi (ff. 21v-26v, 39r-43r). Les trois parties manuscrites du volume ont été exécutées par plusieurs mains dont celle du scribe anonyme de Georges Supersaxo ; il faut donc rapprocher le S 56 des autres manuscrits (S 51, S 101, S 105) réalisés à l’usage de Georges Supersaxo vers 1472-1474, à l’époque où le jeune homme suivait des études de droit à Bâle. Parmi les annotations sur les pages de garde, l’on distingue la marque de possession laissée par le père de celui-ci, l’évêque Walter Supersaxo (f. N2r). (esc)
DOI (Digital Object Identifier):
DOI (Digital Object Identifier
10.5076/e-codices-mvs-S-0056 (http://dx.doi.org/10.5076/e-codices-mvs-S-0056)
Lien permanent:
Lien permanent
http://e-codices.unifr.ch/fr/list/one/mvs/S-0056
IIIF Manifest URL:
IIIF Manifest URL
IIIF Drag-n-drop http://e-codices.unifr.ch/metadata/iiif/mvs-S-0056/manifest.json
Comment citer:
Comment citer
Sion/Sitten, Médiathèque Valais, S 56: Recueil de textes latins (Gasparinus Barzizius, Boethius, Hieronymus de Vallibus, Sallustius, Augustinus Datus) (http://e-codices.unifr.ch/fr/list/one/mvs/S-0056).
En ligne depuis:
En ligne depuis
22.03.2018
Droits:
Droits
Images:
(Concernant tous les autres droits, voir chaque description de manuscrits et nos conditions d′utilisation)
Outil d'Annotation - Se connecter
Il n'y a pas encore d'annotation pour ce manuscrit. Soyez le premier a en créer une!
Ajouter une annotation
Outil d'Annotation - Se connecter

J. Christopher WARNER, « Quick Eloquence in the Late Renaissance: Agostino Dati’s Elegantiolae », dans Humanistica Lovaniensia : Journal of Neo-Latin Studies, 61 (2012), p. 65-240

Paul Richard BLUM, « Dati, Agostino », dans Lexikon des Mittelalters, vol. 3, Stuttgart/Weimar, 1999, col. 574

Ralf Georg CZAPLA, Das Bibelepos in der Frühen Neuzeit. Zur deutschen Geschichte einer europäischen Gattung, Berlin/Boston, 2013 (Studien und Dokumente zur deutschen Literatur und Kultur im europäischen Kontext: Frühe Neuzeit, 165), p. 126 sqq. [Girolamo della Valle]

Ludwig BERTALOT, « Die älteste Briefsammlung des Gasparinus Barzizza », dans Studien zum italienischen und deutschen Humanismus, éd. Paul Oskar KRISTELLER, Rome, 1975, vol. 2 (Storia e letteratura : raccolta di studi et testi, 130), p. 31-102

Fritz SCHALK, « Barzizza, Gasparino », dans Lexikon des Mittelalters, vol. 1, Stuttgart/Weimar, 1999, col. 1502

Rudolf RIGGENBACH, « Die Bibliothek de Lavallaz in Sitten », dans Le Collectionneur suisse, 5 (1931), p. 33-35, 52-56, 85-88, voir p. 87-88

André DONNET, « Inventaire de la Bibliothèque Supersaxo », dans Vallesia, 29 (1974), p. 31-106, voir p. 36-37, 60-61

Ajouter une référence bibliographique

Images de références et reliure

Plat supérieur
Plat supérieur
Plat inférieur
Plat inférieur
Dos
Dos
Mesure (page)
Mesure (page)
Digital Colorchecker
Digital Colorchecker