Documents: 49, displayed: 1 - 20

Sub-project: Call for Collaboration 2015

June 2015 - March 2017

Status: Completed

Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: In the beginning of 2015, e-codices published its third ‘Call for Collaboration.’ This call, published jointly by e-codices and our partner libraries, again attracted a great deal of international interest. After the great response to the first call in June 2009 with 97 applications from 33 scholars, and the overwhelming success of the second call in 2013 with 137 applications from 55 scholars, we have this time received 91 applications from 36 scholars. The scholars again come from a variety of countries: Germany (9), Switzerland (7), United Kingdom (6), the USA (5), Italy (4), France (2), Sweden (1), Armenia (1) and Hungary (1); almost all disciplines of medieval studies are represented. Proposals were for manuscripts from 18 libraries, an especially large number from the Burgerbibliothek Bern (23), the Zentralbibliothek Zürich (12), the Universitätsbibliothek Basel (8), but also from three new collections that have not yet been represented on e-codices. Also suggested were six manuscripts from the Abbey Library of St. Gall, where more than half of the collection of medieval manuscripts has already been made digitally accessible. Such continuing demand clearly shows that, despite the great number of manuscripts that have already been digitized, the scholarly interest has by far not been satisfied. By March 2017, 43 manuscripts from 13 different collections have been published.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 26
Paper · 288 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Basel · Middle of the 15th century
Nicholas of Lyra, Interpretation of the Psalter, Part 1 (Ps. 1-74)

German translation of the postil on the Psalms by Nicholas of Lyra (deceased 1349), probably created during his lifetime. The commentary on the Psalms, earlier attributed to Heinrich von Mügeln, is the work of an anonymous writer, not yet historically ascertained, the so-called “Österreichischer Bibelübersetzer“ (Austrian translator of the Bible). In his translation of the original, he abbreviates the text and supplies additions. This copy from the library of the Carthusian monastery of Basel dates to the middle of the 15th century; the miniatures are part of the Vullenhoe group. (flr)

Online Since: 12/20/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, AN IV 6
Paper · 151 ff. · 21.5 x 16 cm · Augsburg(?) · 7 September 1485
Psalter, German

A German Psalter, written in 1485 by Johannes Waltpurger, perhaps in Augsburg. The ornamental page decorated with vine scroll with the beginning of the first prologue is almost identical to one in a Cambridge manuscript by the same scribe. The back pastedown, glued to the cover, depicts a landscape showered in blood. It is not clear how this manuscript came to Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, B IV 4
Parchment · 192 ff. · 34 x 25 cm · 14th century
Quodlibeta et Quaestiones disputatae

This manuscript from the Dominican Monastery of Basel contains Quodlibeta and Quaestiones by Nicholas Trivet and Thomas Sutton, two important exponents of the Dominican School of Oxford at the end of the 13th century and the beginning of the 14th century. The thin parchment has numerous small defects as well as mended tears in some places; the sixth quire is bound incorrectly. The interior wooden boards of this formerly chained book (liber catenatus) are covered with fragments. (flr)

Online Since: 12/20/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 1:3c
Parchment · 8 ff. · 16 x 13-13.5 cm · Fulda · first quarter of the 9th century
Theodori and Theodulfus Aurelianensis ・ Ordo ad paenitentiam dandam ・ Ps. Augustinus ・ Hrabanus Maurus ・ Ambrosius Autpertus ・ Praecepta vivendi et al.

This fascicle contains the version of the Paenitentiale Theodori named for this textual witness the ‘Canones Basilienses;’ it was written by two hands from Fulda in an Anglo-Saxon minuscule of the first quarter of the 9th century. Around 1500, this quire was part of the current manuscript F III 15e‬‬‬‬. This explains the title de conflictu viciorum et virtutum on 1r, which does not fit with the content of the quire. As evidenced by the lost text at the beginning and at the end, N I 1: 3c had previously been part of another codex. (stb)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 125
Parchment · 287 ff. · 32.5 x 23.5 cm · first half of the 15th century
Marco Polo: Devisement du monde; Jean de Mandeville: Voyages; Jean le Long d'Ypres: Récits de voyages

Composite manuscript consisting of three parts, bringing together French translations of classic reports of voyages to the Far East. The manuscript, especially its first and third parts, is richly adorned with gold decoration and delicate scroll ornamentation in the margins, yet it contains no illustrations. Hand-painted coats of arms make it possible to identify the family de Pons de Saint-Maurice from the Périgord as a previous owner; later the codex was purchased by Jacques Bongars, who, towards the end of his life, was preparing a volume of source materials about travels to Asia. (mit)

Online Since: 10/13/2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 165
Parchment · 219 ff. · 32.5 x 24.5 cm · France: Tours, Abbey of Saint-Martin OSB · second quarter of the 9th century
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Turonensia

This magnificent complete edition of the works of Virgil (Bucolics, Georgics, Aeneid) was given to the Benedictine Monastery of St. Martin in Tours by the Levite Berno (note and book curse on f. 1v). Virgil’s text is interspersed with numerous commentaries (scholia) from late antiquity by Servius and Donatus, which have been transmitted in this form almost exclusively in manuscripts from the Bongarsiana collection. However, Cod. 165 does not present the true Scholia Bernensia as in Cod. 167 und Cod. 172, but rather a collection by various scholiasts which was compiled in Tours — hence the name Scholia Turonensia. (mit)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 167
Parchment · 214 ff. · 32 x 23-23.5 cm · France: Auxerre or Brittany · second half of the 9th century
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Bernensia

This complete edition of the works of Virgil (Bucolics, Georgics, Aeneid) is connected to Auxerre. In the beginning the manuscript contains numerous paratexts to Virgil, such as the vitae, Argumenta, etc.; beginning on f. 6v, the inner column is reserved for the text, the outer one for the scholia. Virgil’s text is interspersed with numerous commentaries (scholia) from late antiquity by Servius and Donatus, which in this form have been transmitted almost exclusively in manuscripts from the Bongarsiana collection. Cod. 167 presents the true Scholia Bernensia, but only the left column, not the right column of Cod. 172; whether it was copied from the latter remains in dispute. (mit)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 172
Parchment · 151 ff. · 31-31.5 x 27.5-28 cm · France: Fleury. vicinity of Paris (Saint-Denis?) (Bischoff) · second quarter of the 9th century
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Bernensia

This complete edition of the works of Virgil is from Fleury. This manuscript contains only the Bucolics, the Georgics and the first five books of the Aeneid; the second part with books VI to XII is now in Paris (Bibliothèque Nationale, lat. 7929). In the beginning the manuscript contains the so-called Vita Donatiana and various slightly later texts. It is made with great calligraphic care so that the central column is always bordered on the right and on the left by a column of scholia. Cod. 172 is the principal textual witness of the scholia (commentaries) by Servius and Donatus, which have been transmitted in this form almost exclusively in manuscripts from the Bongarsiana collection. (mit)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 258
Parchment · 192 ff. · 27.5 x 19.5-20 cm · France · second half of the 9th century
Glossae biblicae; Glossaria latina, lat.

This manuscript, which was probably produced in Fleury, consists of two independent parts. The first part (f. 1-47) comprises three commentaries on the Old and the New Testament; the second part (f. 48-192) consists of a total of 14 glossaries containing a total of about 25,000 lemmas. A particularity of this manuscript is that it shows different stages in the development of glossaries side by side. The first part represents an earlier stage with definitions of words in the order of the source text, also containing glosses in Old English and Old High German. In the second part the glossaries are already more developed with entries on individual authors or certain topics, ordered alphabetically by keywords. (mit)

Online Since: 06/23/2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 366
Parchment · II + 159 ff. · 22.5-23.5 x 20.5-21 cm · second third of the 9th century
Valerius Maximus: Facta et dicta memorabilia

One of the earliest and most famous manuscripts of Valerius Maximus; its importance lies in the autograph reworkings by Lupus of Ferrières. Lupus himself wrote the Exempla and the comment on the sometime "flyleaves" (f. II-III), repeatedly collated the main text, added supplements from the parallel transmission of Iulius Paris (an abbreviator of Valerius Maximus) and also its accompanying text (Gaius Titius Probus: De praenominibus; f. 158va-159r). In making the fresh description a hitherto unnoticed letter- or charter-like text was discovered on the last page (f. 159v). (all/mit)

Online Since: 06/23/2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 611
Parchment · 153 ff. · 18-19 x 14-14.5 cm · France: evidently Eastern France · 8th century (Palimpsests 5th and 7th century)
Composite manuscript: Merovingian excerpts from grammatical, patristic, computistic and medical works

This Merovingian composite manuscript, which was probably created in (Eastern) France, originally consisted of six independent parts, which were written by different, often not very practiced hands in various phases. Most of the close to thirty individual pieces are texts from grammatical, patristic, computistic and medical works. The longer pieces are interspersed with further excerpts, partly written in Tironian notes. One quaternio from the only partially preserved third part is today held in Paris (BN lat. 10756). Noteworthy is the palimpsest in the fifth part, whose undertexts were probably written in Italy in the 7th century and in the second half of the 5th century respectively. (mit)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 847.9
Parchment · 2 ff. · 21 x 23.5 cm · 1571
Notarial document (fragment)

These two fragments are from the binding of Cod. 611, from which they were removed during restoration; they are two halves of a French notarial document relating to Pierre Daniel. (mit)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 36
Paper · I + 107 + I ff. · 29.1 x 21 cm · Rheinfranken (Rhenish Franconia) · first quarter of the 15th century
Early Modern High German Psalter with Cantica

Written in two columns in bastarda script with a decoration of fleuronné initials, from the first quarter of the 15th century (Wetzel), with two astrological tables added already in the 15th century (Wetzel) on the old flyleaf (f. 1r). The text of the Psalter, in the dialect of Rhenish Franconia (Hessen?), is closely related to the Psalter Göttingen, Niedersächsische Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek, Cod. Ms. theol. 214 v from the beginning of the 15th century. Wetzel assumes at least one common model. Thus the translation is part of Schöndorf’s group 9, subgroup c) around München, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Cgm 182 or Walter’s Psalter 18. (kun)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 107
Parchment · 143 ff. · 24 x 17.5 cm · Nordwestern Germany · end of the 9th century
Codex Theodosianum (excerpts) . Lex salica emandata . Lex Ribuaria . Lex Alamannorum . Lex Baiuvariorum . Charlemagne: Capitularia . Recapitulatio legis Salicae

A legal manuscript, probably incomplete, which contains an extensive collection of texts. Among the most important are four laws, the Lex Salica, Lex Ribuaria, Lex Alamannorum and Lex Baiuvariorum; a short and fragmentary collection of capitularies issued by Charlemagne; excerpts from De legibus, from Isidore of Seville’s Sententiae, from the Codex Theodosianum and from the Rule of Saint Benedict. The text of the Lex Baiuvariorum also contains legal terms in Old High German. In 1789 the codex was acquired by Count Johann-Christian Solms, who resided in Klitschdorf Castle near Bunzlau (Silesia) - his coat of arms can be found on f. 1r - which is why the codex is known in the literature as the "Codex Klitschdorf" or "Codex Solmsianus.” In 1960 Martin Bodmer purchased this codex from the New York antiquarian book dealer H. P. Kraus. (ber)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 79(522)
Parchment · 109 pp. · 24.5 x 19 cm · Einsiedeln · 10th century
Musica enchiriadis

This codex can be dated to the 10th century; it contains the Musica enchiriadis (2-27), a 9th century music theory treatise which endeavors to develop a series of rules for polyphonic composition, as well as annotations to the commentary Scolica enchiriadis (27-45, 66-102). Dasian notation is used in order to graphically illustrate the music. For a long time, this treatise was attributed to the monk Hucbald, but today it is considered the work of an anonymous author. (ber)

Online Since: 03/22/2017

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 117(497)
Parchment · 126 pp. · 25 x 18.5 cm · Einsiedeln · End of the 11th century
Martyrologium, Regula S. Benedicti, Homiliarium

This manuscript contains a martyrology (pp. 1-28), the Rule of Saint Benedict (pp. 28-83) and a homiliary (pp. 84-126). It was written by two scribes in a late Carolingian minuscule and contains two initials decorated with plant branches drawn in ink. In the 13th century, a document about the confraternity of Einsiedeln Abbey and St. Blaise Abbey in the Black Forest was added to a blank area at the end of the text of the Rule of Saint Benedict (p. 83). (ber)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 255(460)
Parchment · 252 pp. · 27 x 18.8 cm · Einsiedeln · 10th century (around 960-970)
Johannes Cassianus, Vitae et Collationes

This manuscript contains the third part (Collationes 18-24) of the Vitae et collationes patrum by John Cassian. The text is introduced by a full-page miniature, showing a medallion with Cassian in the middle, in the process of writing his work, surrounded by four abbots on a checkered background: Piamun and Giovanni with a round nimbus, Pinufius and Theonas with a square one. This manuscript was part of a group of codices that were created during the term of Abbot Thietland (961 until about 964). (ber)

Online Since: 03/17/2016

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 298(119)
Parchment · 146 pp. · 34 x 26.8 cm · France/Lotharingia · 10th century
Boetii geometria et musica

Boethius is the author of the two treatises preserved in this 10th century manuscript: De geometria (1-22) and De musica (23-145). The two texts are surrounded by numerous sketches and marginal as well as interlinear glosses. (ber)

Online Since: 03/22/2017

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 312(541)
Parchment · 296 ff. · 23.5 x 29.6 cm · Southern Germany/Switzerland · 10th/11th century
Prudentius: Praefatio, Cathemerinon, Apotheosis, Hamartigenia, Psychomachia, Contra Symmachum and Peristephanon

This manuscript contains several works by Prudentius and was written by various scribes. The test is surrounded by mostly interlinear glosses; most of these are in Latin, some are in Alemannic dialect. (ber)

Online Since: 03/22/2017

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 362(440)
Parchment · 57 ff. · 28.9 x 23.5 cm · Western Germany · 10th century
Terentius Comoediae, Hymnus

The manuscript is a collection containing fragments of the comedies of Terence, from two lost manuscripts of the 10th century (ff. 3r-26v and ff. 28r-55v, respectively ε and η in editions), plus some fragments from a third manuscript (ff. 56r-57v), including portions of Terence’s Phormio and a hymn to St. Nicholas. The size, legibility and state of preservation vary in different fragments. Some missing leaves from the second manuscript (η) are preserved in the collection of fragments St. Gall, Stiftsbibliothek 1394 (pp. 115-120). (pez)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Documents: 49, displayed: 1 - 20

Documents: 49, affichés: 1 - 20

Sous-projet: Call for Collaboration 2015

Juin 2015 - Mars 2017

statut: achevé

financé par: swissuniversities

Description du projet: Au début de l’année 2015, e-codices a publié son troisième « Call for Collaboration ». Cet appel, lancé conjointement par e-codices et ses bibliothèques partenaires, a de nouveau provoqué un grand intérêt international. Après l’excellent résultat du premier appel en juin 2009 avec 97 propositions de la part de 33 chercheurs et à la suite de l’immense succès du second appel en 2013 avec 137 demandes de la part de 55 chercheurs, nous avons reçu cette fois 91 propositions de manuscrits de la part de 36 chercheurs. A nouveau, les chercheurs viennent de différents pays: Allemagne (9), Suisse (7), Royaume-Uni (6), Etats-Unis (5), Italie (4), France (2), Suède (1), Arménie (1) et Hongrie (1) ; presque toutes les disciplines des études médiévales sont représentées. Les manuscrits proposés proviennent de 18 bibliothèques différentes : un grand nombre sont de la Burgerbibliothek de Berne (23), de la Zentralbibliothek de Zürich (12) et de la Universitätsbibliothek de Bâle (8), mais certains proviennent aussi de trois nouvelles collections qui ne sont pas encore représentées sur e-codices. De plus, six manuscrits de la Stiftsbibliothek de Saint-Gall où plus de la moitié de la collection de manuscrits médiévaux a déjà été numérisée ont aussi été proposés. Une telle demande en continu montre clairement que, malgré un très grand nombre de manuscrits déjà numérisés, l’intérêt scientifique n’a de loin pas été satisfait. Jusqu’en mars 2017, 43 manuscrits issus de 13 collections différentes ont pu être publiés.

Toutes les bibliothèque et les collections

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 26
Papier · 288 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Bâle · moitié du XVème siècle
Nicolas de Lyre, Interprétation du Psautier, 1ère partie (Psaumes 1-74)

Traduction en allemand de la Postilla sur les Psaumes de Nicolas de Lyre (mort en 1349), probablement encore réalisée de son vivant. Le commentaire sur les psaumes, d’abord attribué à Heinrich von Mügeln, est l’oeuvre d’un anonyme qui n’est pas encore attesté historiquement, ledit « Österreichischer Bibelübersetzer ». Celui-ci traduit le texte de base en l’abrégeant et en le munissant d’ajouts. L’exemplaire, provenant de la bibliothèque de la Chartreuse de Bâle, peut être daté de la moitié du XVème siècle et ses miniatures appartiennent au groupe de Vullenhoe. (flr)

En ligne depuis: 20.12.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, AN IV 6
Papier · 151 ff. · 21.5 x 16 cm · Augsbourg(?) · 7 septembre 1485
Psautier, allemand

Psautier allemand, écrit en 1485 par Johannes Waltpurger, probablement à Augsbourg. La page initiale décorée d’entrelacs de végétaux, par laquelle commence le prologue, se rencontre presque identique dans un manuscrit de Cambridge du même copiste. La page de garde postérieure, encollée à l’intérieur de la couverture, montre un paysage plongé dans une pluie de sang. La manière dont le manuscrit est parvenu à Bâle n’est pas claire. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, B IV 4
Parchemin · 192 ff. · 34 x 25 cm · XIVème siècle
Quodlibeta et Quaestiones disputatae

Le manuscrit du couvent des dominicains de Bâle contient les Quodlibeta et les Quaestiones de Nicolas Trivet et de Thomas Sutton, deux figures importantes de l’école dominicaine d’Oxford à la fin du XIIIème et au début du XIVème siècle. Le parchemin, très fin, présente de nombreux petits défauts et des déchirures rapiécées en plusieurs endroits; le fascicule six a été relié au mauvais endroit. L’intérieur de la couverture en bois du volume à l’origine enchaîné, a été recouvert de fragments. (flr)

En ligne depuis: 20.12.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, N I 1:3c
Parchemin · 8 ff. · 16 x 13-13.5 cm · Fulda · premier quart du IXe siècle
Theodori et Theodulfus Aurelianensis ・ Ordo ad paenitentiam dandam ・ Ps. Augustinus ・ Hrabanus Maurus ・ Ambrosius Autpertus ・ Praecepta vivendi et al.

Le fascicule contient le Paenitentiale Theodori, désigné, dans ce témoin textuel, sous le nom de 'Canones Basilienses', écrit par deux mains de Fulda en minuscule anglo-saxonne dans le premier quart du IXème siècle. Vers 1500 le fascicule constituait une partie du manuscrit portant actuellement la cote F III 15e‬‬‬‬. Ceci explique le titre de conflictu viciorum et virtutum au f. 1r qui ne correspond pas au contenu. Mais comme on peut le déduire des lacunes du texte au début et à la fin, le fascicule N I 1: 3c faisait autrefois partie d’un autre codex. (stb)

En ligne depuis: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 125
Parchemin · 287 ff. · 32.5 x 23.5 cm · première moitié du XVe siècle
Marco Polo : Devisement du monde ; Jean de Mandeville : Voyages ; Jean le Long d'Ypres : Récits de voyages

Manuscrit composite constitué de trois parties qui rassemblent des traductions en français de récits de voyages classiques vers l’Extrême Orient. Le manuscrit, surtout dans la première et la troisième partie, est richement illustré avec des décors dorés et une ornementation marginale raffinée constituée d’entrelacs végétaux ; il ne contient pourtant pas d’illustrations à proprement parler. La présence d’armoiries peintes permet d’identifier les précédents propriétaires, la famille de Pons de Saint-Maurice du Périgord ; plus tard, le codex fut acquis par Jacques Bongars, qui, à la fin de sa vie, était en train de préparer un volume réunissant des sources relatives aux voyages en Asie. (mit)

En ligne depuis: 13.10.2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 165
Parchemin · 219 ff. · 32.5 x 24.5 cm · France: Tours, Abbaye de Saint-Martin OSB · deuxième quart du IXe siècle
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Turonensia

Magnifique édition complète des œuvres de Virgile (Bucoliques, Géorgiques, Enéide), offerte en cadeau par le lévite Berno au monastère bénédictin de Saint-Martin de Tours (annotation et invective contre les voleurs au f. 1v). Le texte de Virgile est entremêlé de nombreux commentaires (scholies) de l’Antiquité tardive de Servius et de Donat, qui sont transmis, sous cette forme, presqu’exclusivement par les manuscrits de la bibliothèque Bongarsiana. Le Cod. 165 n’offre cependant pas les authentiques Scholia Bernensia comme les Cod. 167 et Cod. 172, mais un recueil de divers scholiastes manifestement réalisé à Tours, d‘où leur nom de Scholia Turonensia. (mit)

En ligne depuis: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 167
Parchemin · 214 ff. · 32 x 23-23.5 cm · France: Auxerre ou Bretagne · deuxième moitié du IXe siècle
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Bernensia

Edition complète des œuvres de Virgile (Bucoliques, Géorgiques, Enéide) en lien avec Auxerre. Le manuscrit contient au début de nombreux paratextes sur Virgile, tels que les Vies, les Argumenta etc.; à partir du f. 6v la colonne intérieure est réservée au texte de Virgile et la colonne extérieure aux scholies. Le texte de Virgile est entremêlé de nombreux commentaires de l’Antiquité tardive (scholies) de Servius et de Donat, qui sont transmis, sous cette forme, presqu’exclusivement par les manuscrits de la bibliothèque Bongarsiana. Le Cod. 167 offre les authentiques Scholia Bernensia, mais seulement la colonne de gauche, non celle de droite, du Cod. 172 ; la question est disputée de savoir s’il a été copié à partir de ce dernier. (mit)

En ligne depuis: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 172
Parchemin · 151 ff. · 31-31.5 x 27.5-28 cm · France: Fleury. Autour de Paris (Saint-Denis?) (Bischoff) · deuxième tiers du IXe siècle
Vergilius: Bucolica, Georgica, Aeneis / Scholia Bernensia

Edition complète des oeuvres de Virgile, provenant de Fleury. Le manuscrit ne contient que les Bucoliques, les Géorgiques ainsi que les cinq premiers livres de l’Enéide, la seconde partie, avec les livres VI à XII se trouve aujourd’hui à Paris (Bibliothèque Nationale, lat. 7929). Il contient au début ladite Vie de Donat (Vita Donatiana) et divers textes un peu plus tardifs. Elle a été soigneusement réalisée au point de vue calligraphique et la colonne centrale est entourée, à gauche et à droite, de colonnes réservées aux scholies. Le Cod. 172 est le principal témoin des scholies (=commentaire) de Servius et de Donat, qui sont transmises, sous cette forme, presqu’exclusivement par les manuscrits de la bibliothèque Bongarsiana. (mit)

En ligne depuis: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 258
Parchemin · 192 ff. · 27.5 x 19.5-20 cm · France · deuxième moitié du IXe siècle
Glossae biblicae; Glossaria latina, lat.

Manuscrit composé de deux parties indépendantes, probablement réalisé à Fleury: la première partie (f. 1-47) réunit trois commentaires sur l’Ancien et le Nouveau Testament; la seconde partie (f. 48-192) comprend 14 glossaires, contenant en tout 25'000 lemmes. La particularité du manuscrit réside dans le fait que l’on peut observer plusieurs phases du développement des glossaires: la première partie représente une phase précoce et renferme une explication des mots insérés directement dans le texte des sources, qui contient des gloses en ancien anglais et en ancien allemand. Dans la seconde partie, les glossaires se trouvent déjà dans une phase plus avancée, avec des entrées sur des auteurs particuliers ou sur des thèmes déterminés, classées par ordre alphabétique. (mit)

En ligne depuis: 23.06.2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 366
Parchemin · II + 159 ff. · 22.5-23.5 x 20.5-21 cm · deuxième tiers du IXe siècle
Valerius Maximus: Facta et dicta memorabilia

Il s’agit de l’un des plus anciens et fameux manuscrits contenant l’oeuvre deValère Maxime, dont l’importance réside dans sa mise au point par Loup de Ferrières. Loup écrivit de sa propre main les Exempla et la notice dans les anciens “folios de garde” (f. II-III), collationna plusieurs fois le texte principal et intégra des éléments de la tradition parallèle de Julius Paris (adbreviator deValère Maxime), y compris son texte d’accompagnement (Gaius Titius Probus: De praenominibus; f. 158va-159r). En élaborant la nouvelle description du codex, on a découvert sur la dernière page un texte de type épistolaire ou documentaire jusqu'ici méconnu (f. 159v). (all/mit)

En ligne depuis: 23.06.2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 611
Parchemin · 153 ff. · 18-19 x 14-14.5 cm · France: visiblement est de la France · VIIIe siècle (palimpseste Ve et VIIe siècle)
Manuscrit composite: Extraits d’époque mérovingienne d’écrits grammaticaux, patristiques, computistiques et médicaux

Le manuscrit composite d’époque mérovingienne, provenant certainement de l’est de la France, se compose de six parties indépendantes à l’origine, rédigées par diverses mains souvent peu exercées et en plusieurs étapes. La plus grande partie des quelque trente extraits contiennent des écrits grammaticaux, patristiques, computistiques et médicaux. Les parties plus longues sont interrompues par de nombreux autres extraits, en partie rédigés aussi en notes tironiennes. De la troisième partie, conservée seulement partiellement, un quaternion se trouve aujourd’hui à Paris (BN lat. 10756). Le palimpseste de la cinquième partie constitue l’une des particularités de ce manuscrit: les textes inférieurs ont probablement été écrits en Italie au VIIème, et respectivement dans la seconde moitié du Vème siècle. (mit)

En ligne depuis: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 847.9
Parchemin · 2 ff. · 21 x 23.5 cm · 1571
Document notarial (fragment)

Les deux fragments proviennent de la couverture du Cod. 611, de laquelle ils ont été retirés lors de la restauration; il s’agit de deux moitiés d’un acte notarié en français, en relation avec Pierre Daniel. (mit)

En ligne depuis: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 36
Papier · I + 107 + I ff. · 29.1 x 21 cm · Allemagne rhénane · premier quart du XVe siècle
Psautier en haut-allemand protomoderne avec des Cantica

Psautier, écrit sur deux colonnes, dans une bâtarde avec des initiales fleuronnées du premier quart du XVème siècle (Wetzel), précédé de deux tableaux astrologiques encore ajoutés au XVème siècle sur la page de garde antérieure (f. 1r) (Wetzel). Le texte du psautier en dialecte francique rhénan (de Hesse?) est étroitement apparenté à celui du psautier de Göttingen, de la Niedersächsische Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek, Cod. Ms. theol. 214, du début du XVème siècle. Wetzel suppose l’existence d‘au moins un modèle commun. La traduction fait donc partie du Schöndorfs 9. Gruppe, Untergruppe c) constitué autour de München, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Cgm 182 respectivement du psautier Walters 18. (kun)

En ligne depuis: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 107
Parchemin · 143 ff. · 24 x 17.5 cm · Nord-ouest de l’Allemagne · fin du IXe siècle
Codex Theodosianum (extraits) . Lex salica emandata . Lex Ribuaria . Lex Alamannorum . Lex Baiuvariorum . Capitulaire de Charlemagne. Recapitulatio legis Salicae

Manuscrit juridique, probablement incomplet, contenant une importante collection de textes, parmi lesquels quatre lois: Salica, Ribuaria, Alamannorum, Baiuvariorum, un court recueil fagmentaire de capitulaires de Charlemagne, des extraits du De legibus et des Sententiae d’Isidore de Séville, du Codex Theodosianum et de la Règle de Saint Benoît. Dans le texte de la Lex Baiuvariorum sont insérées des notions juridiques en ancien allemand. En 1789, le codex entra en possession du comte Johann-Christian Solms résident dans le château de Klitschdorf près de Bunzlau (Silésie) – ses armoiries figurent au f. 1r – et, pour cette raison, fut aussi appelé dans la bibliographie « Codex Klitschdorf » ou « Codex Solmsianus ». En 1960 il fut acquis par Martin Bodmer auprès de l’antiquaire H. P. Kraus à New York. (ber)

En ligne depuis: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 79(522)
Parchemin · 109 pp. · 24.5 x 19 cm · Einsiedeln · Xème siècle
Musica enchiriadis

Ce codex, datable du Xème siècle, contient le Musica enchiriadis (2-27), un traité de théorie musicale datant du IXème siècle, qui s’efforce d’élaborer une série de règles pour la composition polyphonique, et les notes du commentaire Scolica enchiriadis (27-45, 66-102). Pour illustrer graphiquement la musique, l’on a utilisé la notation dasienne. Pendant longtemps attribué à Hucbald, ce traité est aujourd’hui considéré comme l’oeuvre d’un auteur anonyme. (ber)

En ligne depuis: 22.03.2017

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 117(497)
Parchemin · 126 pp. · 25 x 18.5 cm · Einsiedeln · fin du XIème siècle
Martyrologium, Regula S. Benedicti, Homiliarium

Le manuscrit contient un martyrologe (pp. 1-28), la Règle de Saint Benoît (pp. 28-83) et un homiliaire (pp. 84-126). Il a été rédigé par deux copistes en minuscules carolines tardives et présente deux initiales décorées de rameaux végétaux à l’encre. Durant le XIIIème siècle, dans un espace laissé vide à la fin du texte de la Règle (p. 83), est inséré un document concernant la confraternité de prière (Gebetsverbrüderung) entre l’Abbaye d’Einsiedeln et celle de Saint-Blaise dans la Forêt-Noire. (ber)

En ligne depuis: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 255(460)
Parchemin · 252 pp. · 27 x 18.8 cm · Einsiedeln · Xe siècle (vers 960-970)
Johannes Cassianus, Vitae et Collationes

Le manuscrit contient la troisième partie (Collationes 18-24) des Vitae et collationes patrum de Jean Cassien. Le texte est introduit par une miniature en pleine page dans laquelle, dans un médaillon au centre, est représenté l’auteur, Cassien, en train d’écrire son oeuvre, entouré de quatre abbés sur un fond quadrillé: Piamun et Giovanni avec une auréole ronde, Pinufius et Theonas avec une auréole carrée. Le manuscrit fait partie du groupe des codices réalisés à l’époque de l’abbé Thietland (961-vers 964). (ber)

En ligne depuis: 17.03.2016

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 298(119)
Parchemin · 146 pp. · 34 x 26.8 cm · France/Lotharingie · Xème siècle
Boetii geometria et musica

Boèce est l’auteur des deux traités transmis dans ce manuscrit du Xème siècle: le De geometria (1-22) et le De musica (23-145). Les deux textes sont entourés de nombreux dessins et de gloses marginales et interlinéaires. (ber)

En ligne depuis: 22.03.2017

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 312(541)
Parchemin · 296 ff. · 23.5 x 29.6 cm · Allemagne du Sud/Suisse · Xème/XIème siècle
Prudence: Praefatio, Cathemerinon, Apotheosis, Hamartigenia, Psychomachia, Contra Symmachum et Peristephanon

Le manuscrit contient plusieurs œuvres de Prudence et est écrit par différents copistes. Le texte est entouré de gloses essentiellement interlinéaires ; la plus grande partie d’entre elles en langue latine, quelques-unes en dialecte alémanique. (ber)

En ligne depuis: 22.03.2017

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 362(440)
Parchemin · 57 ff. · 28.9 x 23.5 cm · Ouest de l’Allemagne · Xème siècle
Terentius Comoediae, Hymnus

Le manuscrit contient des fragments des comédies de Térence provenant de deux manuscrits perdus du Xème siècle (ff. 3r-26v et ff. 28r-55v, indiqués dans les éditions par les sigles ε et η), ainsi que quelques fragments d’un troisième manuscrit (ff. 56r-57v) avec des parties du Phormio de Térence et un hymne à Saint Nicolas. La dimension, la lisibilité et l’état de conservation varient selon les fragments. Quelques feuillets manquants du second codex (η) sont conservés dans un recueil de fragments de la Stiftsbibliothek de Saint-Gall, Cod. Sang. 1394 (pp. 115-120). (pez)

En ligne depuis: 17.12.2015

Documents: 49, affichés: 1 - 20